Skip to main content

1907 Jamestown Exposition, St. Paul's Episcopal Church Records

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 89

Scope and Contents

The collection includes paperwork related to the Jamestown Exposition of 1907 and St. Paul's Episcopal Church. The collection contains historical information of the Episcopal Church at the 1907 Jamestown Exposition. Materials consists of information reflecting the planning of the exhibit, the collecting of documents and artifacts, and correspondence between members of the Exposition committee and other churches regarding the exhibit.

Dates

  • 1907-1908
  • Other: Date acquired: 05/14/2007

Extent

0.40 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

Open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

The 1907 Jamestown Exposition was held to commemorate the 300th anniversary of the establishment of Jamestown. Jamestown was the first permanent English settlement in the United States. The Exposition lasted from April 26 to December 1, 1907 and was held in Norfolk, Virginia. The Episcopal Church exhibited in the 1907 Exposition was the first Protestant Episcopal Church in America, guiding the people in building the society and maintaining order. The Committee on Arrangements of the Jamestown Exposition in conjunction with other churches and members of the community helped to establish and create this Tercentennial Celebration in 1907. The committee, on whom this collection is focused, gathered support, information, artifacts, and photographs all in the effort to hold an exposition honoring the first settlement in the United States. The Chairmen of this committee were Reverend Alfred Magill Randolph and Reverend Corbin Braxton Bryan.

Note written by Sonia Yaco

Language of Materials

English

Abstract

Consists of material related to the first Episcopal Church in North America, which was exhibited in the 1907 Exposition.

Arrangement Note

The collection is organized into two series: Series I: Business; and Series II: Correspondence.

Source of Acquisition

Dr. Alan Harris, St. Paul's Episcopal Church

Method of Acquisition

Gift. Accession #A2007-04
Title
A Guide to the 1907 Jamestown Exposition, St. Paul's Episcopal Church Records
Author
Sonia Yaco
Date
02/13/2013
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the Community Collections Repository

Contact:
3023 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350