Skip to main content

Hampton Roads (Va.)--History--20th century

 Topic
Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings

Found in 11 Collections and/or Records:

1907 Jamestown Exposition, St. Paul's Episcopal Church Records

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 89
Abstract Consists of material related to the first Episcopal Church in North America, which was exhibited in the 1907 Exposition.
Dates: 1907-1908; Other: Date acquired: 05/14/2007

Mason C. Andrews Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 62
Abstract Physician, former city council member and mayor of Norfolk. Served on Norfolk city council from 1974 to 2000 and as the city’s mayor from 1992-1994. Was instrumental in the development of the Eastern Virginia Medical School complex and the redevelopment of downtown Norfolk. The collection includes personal, business, and political papers.
Dates: circa 1777-2010, undated; Other: Date acquired: 10/14/1998; Majority of material found within 1950-1990

Peter Kostas Babalas Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 17
Abstract Represented the 5th District in the Virginia State Senate from 1967-1987. Collection primarily relates to his service in the State Senate from 1972-1979.
Dates: 1943-1979, undated; Other: Date acquired: 04/25/1977

Benjamin A. Banks Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 6
Abstract Lawyer and prominent member of the Norfolk Jewish community. Served on the Norfolk Board of Aldermen (1908-1911) and in the Virginia House of Delegates (1911-1913). Active in local, state and national politics. Includes personal and political correspondence, scrapbooks, letters to the editor, and photographs.
Dates: 1855-1974; Other: Date acquired: 05/18/1976

Cheryl Copper Collection of Bridge and Tunnel Films

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 141
Scope and Contents This collection consists of 12 film reels and one VHS tape related to the construction of the Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel, the Fort McHenry Tunnel in Baltimore, Maryland, the Coleman Bridge, and the Transbay Tube in San Fransicso, California. Most of the film reels are 16mm.
Dates: circa 1964-1985; Other: Date acquired: 06/28/2017

Lawrence M. Cox, Sr. Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 38
Abstract Served as the Executive Director of the Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority (NRHA) from 1941-1969 and, thereafter, as Assistant Secretary for Renewal and Housing Assistance in the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) during Nixon’s administration. Collection chiefly consists of the records accumulated during his service with the NRHA and HUD.
Dates: 1902-2002, undated; Other: Date acquired: 09/23/1977

W. Fred Duckworth Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 45
Abstract Mayor of Norfolk (1950-1962). Collection consists of memorabilia, photographs, scrapbooks, newspaper clippings, and artifacts relating to his political, business and civic activities.
Dates: circa 1908-1979, undated; Other: Date acquired: 05/07/1980

Edythe C. Harrison Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 60
Abstract Member of the Virginia House of Delegates (1979-1982), founder and president of the Virginia Opera Association, and unsuccessful candidate for United States Senator in 1984 against incumbent Republican, Senator John Warner. The first woman in Virginia nominated by the Democratic Party for statewide office. Collection primarily relates to her activities in politics and the 1984 Senatorial campaign.
Dates: 1961-1994, undated; Other: Date acquired: 09/01/1994

Marvin Lee Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 105
Scope and Contents The collection contains an assortment of documents related to Marvin Lee, a professor at Old Dominion University and Public Housing Manager in Norfolk, Virginia. The bulk of the mateial chronicles Lee's career with the Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority (NRHA) but also contains personal material as well
Dates: circa 1935-2004, undated; Majority of material found within 1960-1990; Other: Date acquired: 04/15/2009

Ocean View, Seaside, and Seaview Amusement Parks Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 31
Abstract Includes correspondence, photographs, legal documents, financial material, brochures, advertisements, news release, and newspaper clippings primarily relating to Ocean View, Seaside, and Seaview amusement parks.
Dates: circa 1919-1991, undated; Other: Date acquired: 08/24/1978; Majority of material found within 1940-1979

Town-N-Gown Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 36-15A
Scope and Contents This collection contains minutes and membership directories for the Town-N-Gown, an organization dedicated to fostering good relationships between Old Dominion University, national defense forces (ex. Navy), and the Hampton Roads community.
Dates: 1980-2017; Other: Date acquired: 06/28/2016