Skip to main content

Town-N-Gown Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 36-15A

Scope and Contents

This collection contains minutes and membership directories for the Town-N-Gown, an organization dedicated to fostering good relationships between Old Dominion University, national defense forces (ex. Navy), and the Hampton Roads community.

Dates

  • 1980-2017
  • Other: Date acquired: 06/28/2016

Creator

Extent

0.80 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

Open to researchers without restriction.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

The Old Dominion University Town-N-Gown organization was established in 1965 by two couples; one respresenting the "town," Hugh P. and Margie Jo Fortescue; and one representing the "Gown," or Old Dominion University, Dr. John R. and Waulda Tabb. The instutution was started to harbor a closer relationship between the community and Old Dominion University. Originally under the name "Town and Gown," the organizaiton operated as a committee of the Faculty Wives Club. In 1968, the Navy was added to include the military community, changing the name to Town-N-Gown with the N representing the Navy. Recently, the N was revised to represent National Defense to incorporate more branches of the armed forces represented in Hampton Roads.

Note written by James Detterman

Language of Materials

English

Arrangement Note

This collection is arranged into two series: Series I: Board of Directors Meetings; and Series II: Membership Directories.

Source of Acquisition

R. Stuart Cake

Method of Acquisition

Acc. 2016.012 was hand-delivered to Special Collections and University Archives by the donor on 6/24/2016.

Accruals and Additions

Future accruals are expected.

Processing Information

The collection was processed and the finding aid was created by James Detterman.

Title
A Guide to the Town-N-Gown Records
Author
James Detterman
Date
11/09/2016
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the University Archives Repository

Contact:
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350