Nineteenth Century Stethoscope
Scope and Contents
Contains a wooden Laënnec-style stethoscope thought to have been used in the early 19th century. Included in the collection is a paper scroll that accounts the early development of the stethoscope for medical purposes.
Dates
- circa 1800-1860
- Other: Date acquired: 09/28/2017
Extent
0.20 Linear Feet
Conditions Governing Access
The collection is open to researchers without restrictions.
Conditions Governing Use
Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.
Language of Materials
English
Physical Access Requirements
The fragile nature of the stethoscope my limit handling. Please consult a staff member for assistance.
Method of Acquisition
Acc. 2017.019 was received by Special Collections and University Archives sometime prior to 2015.
Processing Information
The collection was minimally processed and described by Greg Magier, Special Collections and University Archives Volunteer, in August 2017.
- Title
- A Guide to the Nineteenth Century Stethoscope
- Author
- Steven Bookman, University Archivist
- Date
- 10/16/2017
- Description rules
- Describing Archives: A Content Standard
- Language of description
- English
- Script of description
- Latin
- Language of description note
- Finding aid written in English.
Repository Details
Part of the ODU Community Collections Repository
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350
libspecialcollections@odu.edu