Skip to main content

Stanley Clay Walker Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 28

Scope and Contents

The collection deals primarily with the legislative duties of Stanley Clay Walker as a member of the Virginia House of Delegates, and his service as a member of the Virginia Senate. Walker represented Norfolk and Virginia Beach. The papers consist of personal and legislative correspondence, legislative papers and files, speeches, copies of bills introduced, news releases, statistical data, clippings, maps, a poster, and scrapbooks, among others.

Dates

  • 1950-2000
  • Other: Date acquired: 04/06/1978

Creator

Extent

35.00 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

Open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

Stanley Clay Walker was born July 2, 1923, in Norfolk, Virginia. He attended public schools in Norfolk and graduated from Fork Union Military Academy and the Norfolk Business College. When World War II began he enlisted in the United States Army and served in the European Theater, as part of an ordnance unit of the 82nd Airborne Division. Following his discharge from service, Walker returned to Norfolk and became a partner in a steel fabricating and engineering firm. He married Sybil Bruce Moore, and had two daughters: Susan Gray Walker Meslang, who is one of the founders of the CHANCE educational program for disabled adults at Old Dominion University and Elizabeth Tray Walker, who is currently an attorney and government relations lobbyist for based in Alexandria, Virginia. Mrs. Walker served on the Board of Visitors, Old Dominion University, from March 30, 1990 to June 30, 1994. Walker served as President of Stanley Walker Associates, Inc. Walker resided in Norfolk, until his death in 2001. Walker, a Democrat, began his career in public service as a member of the Norfolk City School Board in 1959. This was shortly after the public schools reopened following the "Massive Resistance" program, which tried to thwart desegregation. Throughout his political career, Walker was a strong advocate for education on all levels. For his support of Old Dominion University throughout the years, when the school was transitioning from a college to a university, the Board of Visitors at the college awarded Walker as a resolution of appreciation, on September 17, 1992. The technology building at the Norfolk Campus of Tidewater Community College is named after him. As one who wanted to reform the Democratic Party, he became active in a group known as "The Young Turks." Walker was elected to a seat in the House of Delegates in 1964 as a Representative of the consolidated 5th, 6th, and 7th districts of Norfolk. He took the oath of office on January 8, 1964, and served four terms there to 1971. In 1971, the Federal Court combined the senatorial districts into one multimember district and Walker took the oath of office as Senator on January 12, 1972. He served from that date until January 2000, representing parts of Norfolk and parts of Virginia Beach in the Sixth Senatorial District (Walker lost his bid for reelection in 1999). One aspect of Walker's distinguished career was his service on the Virginia State Crime Commission. He became its first chairman in 1966 and served in that position to 1979. He was also a strong advocate for the protection of children, in which he was chairman for the Commission on Early Childhood and Child Day Care Programs. Stanley C. Walker passed away on January 15, 2001.

Note written by Special Collections Staff

Language of Materials

English

Abstract

Served in the Virginia House of Delegates from 1964 to 1971, and had been a State Senator since 1972. Papers chiefly relate to his service in the General Assembly, notably his service as Chairman of the State Crime Commission.

Arrangement Note

The collection is arranged into nine series: Series I: Correspondence; Series II: Legislative Papers; Series III: Legislative Files; Series IV: Virginia State Crime Commission; Series V: Political Files; Series VI: Speeches; Series VII: Clippings; Series VIII: Scrapbooks; and Series IX: Miscellaneous.

Source of Acquisition

Stanley Clay Walker

Method of Acquisition

Gift. Accession #A78-24

Accruals and Additions

Second accession from Sybil Moore Walker, September 12, 2005.

Title
A Guide to the Stanley Clay Walker Papers
Author
Kathleen Smith; Felicia Farrow; Susan Catlett
Date
02/14/2013
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the Community Collections Repository

Contact:
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350