Skip to main content

Jewish Genealogy Society of Tidewater Records

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 134

Scope and Contents

The Jewish Genealogy Society of Tidewater records contain administrative materials, publications, articles, bibliographies, historical resources, and newsletters pertaining to Jewish genealogy research. The collection pertains to various resources used for genealogical research of Jewish families in the Tidewater region.

Dates

  • circa 1843-2003, undated
  • Other: Majority of material found in 1970-1999
  • Other: Date acquired: 06/22/2018

Creator

Extent

4.00 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

Open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

The Jewish Genealogy Society of Tidewater began as the Jewish Genealogy Club of Tidewater in 1978, founded by Irwin Berent to focus on Jewish family histories and genealogy in the Tidewater/Hampton Roads area. Berent is a writer and historian, who has researched his own family roots and found them to be based in the Baltic countries of Lithuania and Latvia, as well as Poland. He is also known for his publication: Norfolk, Virginia: A Jewish History of the 20th Century (located in Special Collections reading room and third floor general collection stacks, call number-F234.N8 B473 2001) and was a contributor to Jewish Genealogy: A Sourcebook of Family Trees and Histories (1990). [Source material for historical background: http://www.norfolkhistory.com/Berent.htm].

Note written by Kathleen Smith, Special Collections Metadata Specialist

Language of Materials

English

Arrangement Note

The collection is arranged into six series: Series 1: Jewish Geneaology Club of Tidewater - General; Series II: Directories/Indices; Series III: Resources; Series IV: Family Trees and Histories; Series V: Other Genealogical Societies; and Series VI: Articles and Clippings.

Source of Acquisition

Gift of Irwin Berent.

Method of Acquisition

Acc.2018.036 was picked up by Special Collections and University Archives from the donor on 6/22/2018.

Related Materials

Other material related to Jewish families in the Tidewater area can be found in the Benjamin A. Banks Papers (MG 6), Sameul Leyens Switzer Papers (MG 37), and the Paul G. Caplan Papers (MG 78).

Processing Information

The collection was processed by Kathleen Smith, Special Collections Metadata Specialist, from May through June 2019.

Title
A Guide to the Jewish Genealogy Society of Tidewater Records
Author
Kathleen Smith, Special Collections Metadata Specialist
Date
06/25/2019
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the Community Collections Repository

Contact:
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350