James S. Barron Letters
Scope and Contents
This collection consists of two letters written to James S. Barron, a Virginia State Senator representing Norfolk. The first letter, dated 1913, is from the African-American men of the Bank Street Baptist Church thanking him for his service on his birthday. Also included is an autographed signed letter to Barron from President Franklin Delano Roosevelt thanking him for sending photographs of Confederate States of America ships. The collection contains both the original and a copy of each letter.
Dates
- 1913, 1937
- Other: Date acquired: 08/28/2019
Creator
- Barron, James S. (1875-1941) (Person)
Extent
0.05 Linear Feet
Conditions Governing Access
Open to researchers without restrictions.
Conditions Governing Use
Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.
Language of Materials
English
Arrangement Note
The collection is arranged in chronological order.
Source of Acquisition
Gift
Method of Acquisition
The letters were given to Special Collections and University Archives some time prior to 2015.
Processing Information
Accessioned and minimally described by Steven Bookman, University Archivist, in August 2019.
Creator
- Barron, James S. (1875-1941) (Person)
- Title
- A Guide to the James S. Barron Letters
- Author
- Steven Bookman, University Archivist
- Date
- 08/28/2019
- Description rules
- Describing Archives: A Content Standard
- Language of description
- English
- Script of description
- Latin
- Language of description note
- Finding aid written in English.
Repository Details
Part of the ODU Community Collections Repository
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350
libspecialcollections@odu.edu