Skip to main content

Box 1

 Container

Contains 14 Results:

Box 1

 File — Box: 1
Identifier: Box 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Norfolk attorney Archie L. Boswell acted as attorney for the defendants in the cases of James vs. Duckworth and James vs. Almond, the two cases to reopen the Norfolk schools closed to avoid integration as part of Virginia's Massive Resistance. This collection consists of his papers relating to those two cases, and includes various legal materials, correspondence, notes, background research, and other items.

Dates: circa 1958-1961
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 59, Archie L. Boswell Papers / Series I: James v. Duckworth

Folder 1: Correspondence, 1959 January-June

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 1
Identifier: Folder 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Norfolk attorney Archie L. Boswell acted as attorney for the defendants in the cases of James vs. Duckworth and James vs. Almond, the two cases to reopen the Norfolk schools closed to avoid integration as part of Virginia's Massive Resistance. This collection consists of his papers relating to those two cases, and includes various legal materials, correspondence, notes, background research, and other items.

Dates: 1959 January-June
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 59, Archie L. Boswell Papers / Series I: James v. Duckworth / Box 1

Folder 2: Correspondence, 1959 July-October

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 2
Identifier: Folder 2
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Norfolk attorney Archie L. Boswell acted as attorney for the defendants in the cases of James vs. Duckworth and James vs. Almond, the two cases to reopen the Norfolk schools closed to avoid integration as part of Virginia's Massive Resistance. This collection consists of his papers relating to those two cases, and includes various legal materials, correspondence, notes, background research, and other items.

Dates: 1959 July-October
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 59, Archie L. Boswell Papers / Series I: James v. Duckworth / Box 1

Folder 3: Correspondence, 1959 November-1961 August

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 3
Identifier: Folder 3
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Norfolk attorney Archie L. Boswell acted as attorney for the defendants in the cases of James vs. Duckworth and James vs. Almond, the two cases to reopen the Norfolk schools closed to avoid integration as part of Virginia's Massive Resistance. This collection consists of his papers relating to those two cases, and includes various legal materials, correspondence, notes, background research, and other items.

Dates: 1959 November-1961 August
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 59, Archie L. Boswell Papers / Series I: James v. Duckworth / Box 1

Folder 4: Court Papers, circa 1958-1961

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 4
Identifier: Folder 4
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Norfolk attorney Archie L. Boswell acted as attorney for the defendants in the cases of James vs. Duckworth and James vs. Almond, the two cases to reopen the Norfolk schools closed to avoid integration as part of Virginia's Massive Resistance. This collection consists of his papers relating to those two cases, and includes various legal materials, correspondence, notes, background research, and other items.

Dates: circa 1958-1961
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 59, Archie L. Boswell Papers / Series I: James v. Duckworth / Box 1

Folder 5: Brief for Appellants, circa 1958-1961

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 5
Identifier: Folder 5
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Norfolk attorney Archie L. Boswell acted as attorney for the defendants in the cases of James vs. Duckworth and James vs. Almond, the two cases to reopen the Norfolk schools closed to avoid integration as part of Virginia's Massive Resistance. This collection consists of his papers relating to those two cases, and includes various legal materials, correspondence, notes, background research, and other items.

Dates: circa 1958-1961
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 59, Archie L. Boswell Papers / Series I: James v. Duckworth / Box 1

Folder 6: Reply and Appendix to Brief, circa 1958-1961

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 6
Identifier: Folder 6
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Norfolk attorney Archie L. Boswell acted as attorney for the defendants in the cases of James vs. Duckworth and James vs. Almond, the two cases to reopen the Norfolk schools closed to avoid integration as part of Virginia's Massive Resistance. This collection consists of his papers relating to those two cases, and includes various legal materials, correspondence, notes, background research, and other items.

Dates: circa 1958-1961
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 59, Archie L. Boswell Papers / Series I: James v. Duckworth / Box 1

Folder 7: Appeal, circa 1958-1961

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 7
Identifier: Folder 7
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Norfolk attorney Archie L. Boswell acted as attorney for the defendants in the cases of James vs. Duckworth and James vs. Almond, the two cases to reopen the Norfolk schools closed to avoid integration as part of Virginia's Massive Resistance. This collection consists of his papers relating to those two cases, and includes various legal materials, correspondence, notes, background research, and other items.

Dates: circa 1958-1961
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 59, Archie L. Boswell Papers / Series I: James v. Duckworth / Box 1

Folder 8: Petition for a Writ of Certiorari, circa 1958-1961

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 8
Identifier: Folder 8
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Norfolk attorney Archie L. Boswell acted as attorney for the defendants in the cases of James vs. Duckworth and James vs. Almond, the two cases to reopen the Norfolk schools closed to avoid integration as part of Virginia's Massive Resistance. This collection consists of his papers relating to those two cases, and includes various legal materials, correspondence, notes, background research, and other items.

Dates: circa 1958-1961
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 59, Archie L. Boswell Papers / Series I: James v. Duckworth / Box 1

Folder 9: Financial, circa 1958-1961

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 9
Identifier: Folder 9
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Norfolk attorney Archie L. Boswell acted as attorney for the defendants in the cases of James vs. Duckworth and James vs. Almond, the two cases to reopen the Norfolk schools closed to avoid integration as part of Virginia's Massive Resistance. This collection consists of his papers relating to those two cases, and includes various legal materials, correspondence, notes, background research, and other items.

Dates: circa 1958-1961
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 59, Archie L. Boswell Papers / Series I: James v. Duckworth / Box 1

Folder 10: Newspaper Clippings, circa 1958-1961

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 10
Identifier: Folder 10
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Norfolk attorney Archie L. Boswell acted as attorney for the defendants in the cases of James vs. Duckworth and James vs. Almond, the two cases to reopen the Norfolk schools closed to avoid integration as part of Virginia's Massive Resistance. This collection consists of his papers relating to those two cases, and includes various legal materials, correspondence, notes, background research, and other items.

Dates: circa 1958-1961
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 59, Archie L. Boswell Papers / Series I: James v. Duckworth / Box 1

Folder 11: Notes, circa 1958-1961

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 11
Identifier: Folder 11
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Norfolk attorney Archie L. Boswell acted as attorney for the defendants in the cases of James vs. Duckworth and James vs. Almond, the two cases to reopen the Norfolk schools closed to avoid integration as part of Virginia's Massive Resistance. This collection consists of his papers relating to those two cases, and includes various legal materials, correspondence, notes, background research, and other items.

Dates: circa 1958-1961
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 59, Archie L. Boswell Papers / Series I: James v. Duckworth / Box 1

Folder 12: Norfolk City Council, circa 1958-1961

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 12
Identifier: Folder 12
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Norfolk attorney Archie L. Boswell acted as attorney for the defendants in the cases of James vs. Duckworth and James vs. Almond, the two cases to reopen the Norfolk schools closed to avoid integration as part of Virginia's Massive Resistance. This collection consists of his papers relating to those two cases, and includes various legal materials, correspondence, notes, background research, and other items.

Dates: circa 1958-1961
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 59, Archie L. Boswell Papers / Series I: James v. Duckworth / Box 1

Folder 13: Miscellaneous, circa 1958-1961

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 13
Identifier: Folder 13
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Norfolk attorney Archie L. Boswell acted as attorney for the defendants in the cases of James vs. Duckworth and James vs. Almond, the two cases to reopen the Norfolk schools closed to avoid integration as part of Virginia's Massive Resistance. This collection consists of his papers relating to those two cases, and includes various legal materials, correspondence, notes, background research, and other items.

Dates: circa 1958-1961
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 59, Archie L. Boswell Papers / Series I: James v. Duckworth / Box 1