Skip to main content

Box 3

 Container

Contains 5 Results:

Box 3

 File — Box: 3
Identifier: Box 3
Scope and Contents From the Collection: The bulk of the collection consists of material related to Hugh Lee Butlers's time on the Norfolk City Council as a representative of Brambleton (parking meters; race relations; Foreman Field; city anniversaries; Museum of Arts and Sciences; blue laws; study of schools); his service on the Local Draft Board from 1917 to 1922 (alleged draft evaders, delinquents, deserters); personal and family papers (tax returns, financial records, obituaries, condolences); pamphlets and brochures of...
Dates: 1906-1940, undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 58, Hugh Lee Butler Papers / Series V: Clippings

Folder 1: Clipping from Norfolk Newspapers, 1906-1924, undated

 File — Box: 3, Folder: 1
Identifier: Folder 1
Scope and Contents

Include death of Woodrow Wilson; 'Jim Crow' law effective Jun 13 1906.

Dates: 1906-1924, undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 58, Hugh Lee Butler Papers / Series V: Clippings / Box 3

Folder 2: Clipping from Norfolk Newspapers, 1906-1924, undated

 File — Box: 3, Folder: 2
Identifier: Folder 2
Scope and Contents

Include death of Woodrow Wilson; 'Jim Crow' law effective Jun 13 1906.

Dates: 1906-1924, undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 58, Hugh Lee Butler Papers / Series V: Clippings / Box 3

Box 3

 File — Box: 3
Identifier: Box 3
Scope and Contents From the Collection: The bulk of the collection consists of material related to Hugh Lee Butlers's time on the Norfolk City Council as a representative of Brambleton (parking meters; race relations; Foreman Field; city anniversaries; Museum of Arts and Sciences; blue laws; study of schools); his service on the Local Draft Board from 1917 to 1922 (alleged draft evaders, delinquents, deserters); personal and family papers (tax returns, financial records, obituaries, condolences); pamphlets and brochures of...
Dates: 1897-1905, undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 58, Hugh Lee Butler Papers / Series VI: Scrapbook

Folder 3: Scrapbook, 1897-1905, undated

 File — Box: 3, Folder: 3
Identifier: Folder 3
Scope and Contents

Various clippings beginning about Apr 18 1897 from Public Ledger. Include poems; Civil War reports; current events; funeral of sister-in-law, Cassie Grace; deaths of mother, Mrs. Martha A (sic) Butler (1897) and brother, Hunter C Butler (1905).

Dates: 1897-1905, undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 58, Hugh Lee Butler Papers / Series VI: Scrapbook / Box 3