Skip to main content

Allan Blank Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: DCR MG 5

Scope and Contents

The Allan Blank Papers consist primarily of scores (mainly in manuscript and facsimile formats) and materials related directly to his significant compositions and published materials, including programs, reviews and recordings. His compositions encompass a wide range of instrumentation and format. His works include pieces for a solo instrument, full orchestra, chamber ensemble, voice, music for children, and opera. Materials in this collection also document some of Mr. Blank’s personal and professional interests.

Dates

  • 1958-2009, undated
  • Other: Date acquired: 00/00/1999

Creator

Extent

62.30 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

Open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Language of Materials

English

Additional Description

Arrangement Note

This collection has been organized into seven series: Series I: Original Compositions; Series II: Sketches and Sketchbooks; Series III: Correspondence; Series IV: Programs; Series V: Publicity; Series VI: Personal and Professional Reference Materials; and Series VII: Videos and Recordings.

Physical Access Requirements

Original reel to reel recordings are not available for use.

Source of Acquisition

Allan Blank

Method of Acquisition

Gift

Accruals and Additions

Additions were made in 2000, 2009, and 2010.

Processing Information

The collection was processed by Jessica Mirasol in 2010.

Topics

Related People/Organizations

Creator

Administrative Information

Title
A Guide to the Allan Blank Papers
Author
Jessica Mirasol in January 2010
Date
03/01/2010
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Repository Details

Part of the ODU Diehn Composers Room Collection Repository

https://www.odu.edu/library/special-collections
Contact:
189 Diehn Fine & Performing Arts Center
1339 49th St.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350