Skip to main content

Rogers Dey Whichard Collection of Printer's Blocks

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-4B2

Scope and Contents

The collection contains approximately 100 printer's blocks of images that were used in the book "The History of Lower Tidewater Virginia" written by Rogers Dey Whichard, a foreign languages instructor at the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary. The book was published by Lewis Historical Publishing Company, Inc. in 1959. Each printer's block is wrapped in newspaper with a photograph of the corresponding image from the book taped to the outside.

Dates

  • 1959
  • Other: Date acquired: 00/00/1959

Creator

Extent

4.00 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

Open to researchers without restriction.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

Rogers Dey Whichard was an instructor of foreign languages at the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary.

Note written by Special Collections Staff

Language of Materials

English

Physical Access Requirements

The fragile nature of the material may limit handling. Please consult a staff member for details.

Source of Acquisition

Rogers Dey Whichard

Method of Acquisition

Gift. The collection was given to the library by the donor in 1959.

Processing Information

The collection was minimally processed and described by Greg Magier, Special Collections and University Archives Volunteer, in August 2017.

Title
A Guide to the Rogers Dey Whichard Collection of Printer's Blocks
Author
Steven Bookman, University Archivist
Date
10/25/2017
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the University Archives Repository

Contact:
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350