Skip to main content

Oral History Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 10-2A

Scope and Contents

This collection contains transcripts and supporting documentation of oral histories conducted by Dr. James R. Sweeney, professor of history and University Archivist, and others related to the history of Old Dominion, Massive Resistance, Virginia Symphony Orchestra and other topics. Some of the information contained in the folders include the oral history transcript, interview questions, and biographies of interviewees. The audio recordings and transcripts have been digitized and can be found in the Oral Histories in Perry Library and the Virginia Symphony Orchestra Oral Histories digital collections. Oral HIstories related to the Virginia Symphony Orchestra can also be found in the Virginia Symphony Orchestra Records (MG 81-A).

Dates

  • 1974-2006, undated
  • Other: Date acquired: 00/00/1974

Creator

Extent

1.60 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

Open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Language of Materials

English

Arrangement Note

The collection is arranged alphabetically by interviewee's last name.

Source of Acquisition

Dr. James R. Sweeney, University Archivist

Method of Acquisition

Gift.

Related Materials

Virginia Symphony Orchestra Records (MG 81-A).

Processing Information

Container list was compiled by Alicia Brown, Special Collections and University Archives Student Assistant, in November 2017.

Title
A Guide to the Oral History Collection
Author
Steven Bookman, University Archivist
Date
10/26/2017
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the University Archives Repository

Contact:
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350