Skip to main content

Old Dominion University Student Handbooks

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 7-4A

Scope and Contents

This collection contains student handbooks for the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary, Old Dominion College, and Old Dominion University. Also included in the collection are handbooks related to intramural sports, community college transfer orientation, international students, health/physical education majors, and post graduate career handbooks. Additionally, the collection includes two student handbooks titled Disorientation, a source of alternative orientation information for Old Dominion freshman published in 1969 by the Old Dominion Chapter of College Americans for Democratic Action, a campus free speech organization.

Dates

  • 1948-2003

Extent

1.80 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

Open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

Old Dominion University was founded in September 1930 as an extension campus of the College of William and Mary in the Tidewater region of Virginia.  The “Norfolk Division” as it was known offered a two year course of study allowing students the opportunity to earn transferable credit through the sophomore year to any four year college throughout the United States.  In 1961 the Division earned accreditation as a four year school and in August 1962 was established by the Virginia General Assembly as Old Dominion College.  In 1969, Old Dominion College became present day Old Dominion University. The original student body at the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary in 1930 numbered at 356 with a faculty of 13 instructors.  In 2011, there were over 24,000 registered students which includes 18,000 undergraduate, 5,500 graduate, and 1400 international students.  Since 1930, the Norfolk Division, Old Dominion College, and Old Dominion University have collectively produced over 100,000 alumni living in all 50 states and 78 countries. On March 7, 1947, an article in the student newspaper, The High Hat reported work had begun to develop a freshman handbook for the 1947 fall semester.  The freshman handbook was intended to provide incoming freshman with information concerning student government, social clubs, and other important campus functions.  The student handbook was published annually until 2004 when it was incorporated into the undergraduate/graduate student catalog.  This publication is produced biennially and remains available in a print as well as a web based format.  Additionally, other guides and handbooks, such as international student handbooks, community college transfer handbooks, and career information guides have been published periodically to satisfy the needs of an expanding and diverse student body.

Note written by Special Collections Staff

Language of Materials

English

Abstract

This collection contains student handbooks for the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary, Old Dominion College, and Old Dominion University, non-continuous, from 1948 to 2003.  Also included in the collection are handbooks related to intramural sports, community college transfer orientation, international students, health/physical education majors, and post graduate career handbooks.  Additionally, the collection includes two student handbooks titled Disorientation, a source of alternative orientation information for Old Dominion freshman published in 1969 by the Old Dominion Chapter of College Americans for Democratic Action, a campus free speech organization.

Source of Acquisition

Unknown

Method of Acquisition

Various transfers.

Related Materials

Old Dominion University Faculty Handbooks (RG 8-3A5)

Title
A Guide to the Old Dominion University Student Handbooks
Author
Special Collections Staff
Date
02/14/2013
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the University Archives Repository

Contact:
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350