Skip to main content

Guantanamo Bay Off-Campus Credit Program Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 23-6A

Scope and Contents

The collection includes administrative records and publications related to the Guantanamo Bay off-campus credit program offered by Old Dominion University. Of note are news articles from the Guantanamo Gazette, a publication produced on the base.

Dates

  • 1964-1979, undated
  • Other: Date acquired: 04/08/1982

Creator

Extent

0.40 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

The collection is open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

Begun in 1964, the Guantanamo Bay Naval Base (GTMO) Extension was part of Old Dominion College's Evening College Off-campus Credit Program and later became part of the School of Continuing Studies. Continuing Studies was a far-reaching network extending from Suffolk to Vietnam. By 1980, these programs included more than 28,000 enrollments at area locations and local and foreign military bases such as Guantanamo Bay, Dam Neck, and ships at sea.  The GTMO Extension offered undergraduate courses ranging from collegiate-level trigonometry to Spanish and graduate courses in education. However the course offerings fluctuated greatly between semesters and were dependent on enrollment and instructor availability.  By 1976 an average of eleven or twelve classes were taught in ten-week cycles. Some instructors came from the Norfolk campus of ODU, while others were Navy personnel stationed at Guantanamo Bay.

Note written by Sonia Yaco

Language of Materials

English

Abstract

The collection includes administrative records and publications related to the Guantanamo Bay off-campus credit program offered by Old Dominion University.

Arrangement Note

The collection is organized into four series: Series I: Correspondence; Series II: Publications; Series III: Administrative; and Series IV: Miscellaneous.

Source of Acquisition

Albert I. Godden

Method of Acquisition

Donation.

Related Materials

Oral Histories in the Perry Library: Albert I. Godden also contains information about the Guantanamo Bay program.

Processing Information

The collection was processed and finding aid created by Sonia Yaco, Special Collections Librarian, in 2009.

Title
A Guide to the Guantanamo Bay Off-Campus Credit Program Records
Author
Sonia Yaco
Date
04/16/2014
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the University Archives Repository

Contact:
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350