Skip to main content

Bureau of Business and Economic Research Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 18-26A

Scope and Contents

The collection contains publications, project files, and other information related to the Bureau of Business and Economic Research at Old Dominion University. Some of the topics in the records include Virginia Beach tourism information, project files on area ports and drug abuse, and Tidewater business growth and demographic statistics.

Dates

  • circa 1963-2000
  • Other: Date acquired: 01/17/1980

Creator

Extent

1.20 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

Open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

The Bureau began in 1962 as the Bureau of Business Research at the Norfolk branch of the College of William and Mary. It is still active today as the Bureau of Research in the College of Business and Public Administration. The Bureau of Business and Economic Research had its hand in many different projects during the 1960s and 1970s here at Old Dominion. Along with the Center for Economic Education and the Institute of Management, the Bureau provided opportunities for faculty and graduate students to interact with business, industry, and government in eastern Virginia. The Bureau was the research arm of the School of Business Administration. It provided faculty and graduate students opportunities to gain experience by working with special research projects and ongoing research programs. The Bureau also served as an administrative and research agency through which the School and the University can relate to the community in the areas of business and economics. Faculty and students work on projects pertaining to business organization, business management, public finance, and economic base studies.

Note written by Kara Askey

Language of Materials

English

Arrangement Note

The collection is organized into three series: Series I: Bureau Publications; Series II: Virginia and Hampton Roads Projects; and Series III: Miscellaneous.

Source of Acquisition

Unknown

Method of Acquisition

Various transfers.

Accruals and Additions

Additional accessions made from 1988 to 2000.

Processing Information

The colleciton was processed and finding aid created by Kara Askey in 2009.

Title
A Guide to the Bureau of Business and Economic Research Records
Author
Kara Askey
Date
04/17/2014
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the University Archives Repository

Contact:
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350