Skip to main content

Old Dominion University Photographic and Multimedia Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 32

Scope and Contents

This collection includes a variety of photographs covering the history of the University from 1930 to present day. Photographic subjects include administration, faculty and staff, buildings and grounds, athletics, academic departments, events, convocations, theater and musical performances, student and Greek organizations, and student life. In the 1990s other visual multimedia representations began to be added to the collection, which include VHS, DVD, microform, and photo CD’s. Series I of the Old Dominion University Photographic and Multimedia Collection has been scanned and is available in the Old Dominion University Libraries Digital Collections.

Dates

  • circa 1873-2005, undated
  • Other: Date acquired: 00/00/2006

Creator

Extent

220.80 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

The collection is open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

The University Photographic and Multimedia Collection serves as a pictorial history of the university from its founding as the Norfolk Division of William and Mary in 1930 to the present day as Old Dominion University. The photos show the growth of the school from the first William and Mary extension classes held in the Old Larchmont School to the huge multi-building, multi-degree University that is now Old Dominion.  These photos and multimedia document the change in the school’s journey from an extension of the College of William and Mary in 1930 to becoming a college in 1961 to a full-fledged university in 1969 and onward still to the present day.

Note written by Special Collections Staff

Language of Materials

English

Abstract

The Old Dominion University Photographic and Multimedia Collection (RG 32) contains a wide range of photos relating to the university’s history from the 1930s to the present.

Arrangement Note

This collection is organized into four series: Series I: Photographs; Series II: Multimedia; Series III: Oversize Photographs; and Series IV: Negatives, Slides, and Other Media.

Source of Acquisition

Unknown

Method of Acquisition

The collection has been added to over the years through various transfers from university photographers and departments, as well as several individuals.

Accruals and Additions

Future accruals are expected.

Related Materials

Series I of the Old Dominion University Photographic and Multimedia Collection has been scanned and is available in the Old Dominion University Libraries Digital Collections.

Title
A Guide to the Old Dominion University Photographic and Multimedia Collection
Author
Special Collections Staff
Date
01/28/2013
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the University Archives Repository

Contact:
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350