Skip to main content

Office of Human Resources Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 8-3A

Scope and Contents

This collection contains correspondence, faculty and personnel, and miscellaneous information regarding the Office of Human Resources.

Dates

  • 1962-2019, undated

Extent

1.20 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

Open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

In 1930, the College of William and Mary developed a two-year campus in Norfolk, located in the former Larchmont grade school on Hampton Boulevard. Initially known as the Norfolk Division of the College William and Mary, the college’s name changed as its course offerings expanded and contracted. The original faculty at the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary in 1930 included thirteen instructors, six full time along with an additional seven who regularly commuted from the Williamsburg campus.  Faculty numbers increased in subsequent years in direct proportion to increased course offerings and the school’s continued expansion. The Office of Human Resources has equally grown with the college, providing the backbone of the faculty and staff throughout the years. It has aided in the development of Old Dominion University and its faculty as a whole.

Note written by Joseph Smith

Language of Materials

English

Abstract

The Old Dominion University Office of Human Resources Records contains correspondence, faculty and personnel, and miscellaneous information regarding the Office of Human Resources.

Source of Acquisition

Office of Human Resources

Method of Acquisition

Various transfers.

Processing Information

The collection was processed by Joseph Smith.

Title
A Guide to the Office of Human Resources Records
Author
Joseph Smith; Courtney Williams
Date
06/06/2014
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the University Archives Repository

Contact:
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350