Skip to main content

Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-4A

Scope and Contents

This collections contains annual reports, departmental meeting minutes, and correspondence pertaining to the Foreign Languages and Literatures Department at Old Dominion University. The department is currently known as the Department of World Languages and Cultures.

Dates

  • circa 1959-1979, undated
  • Other: Date acquired: 08/04/1976

Creator

Extent

0.40 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

The collection is open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

The Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures at Old Dominion offers the Bachelor of Arts degree in three major programs: French, German, and Spanish. Additional courses in Arabic, Chinese, Farsi, Hebrew, Italian, Latin, Portuguese and Russian are offered. The department balances oral proficiency and a solid foundation in grammar with an appreciation for the culture of the countries where the language is spoken. The departmentĀ  later changed its name to World Languages and Cultures.

Note written by Kathleen Smith

Language of Materials

English

Source of Acquisition

Dr. John Fahey; Dr. John F. Holley

Method of Acquisition

Transfer. Accession #A76-45

Accruals and Additions

Additional accessions made in 1977, 1978, and 1979.

Processing Information

The collection was processed and finding aid created by Kathleen Smith, Special Collections Metadata Specialist, in 2014.

Title
A Guide to the Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures Records
Author
Kathleen Smith
Date
08/21/2014
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the University Archives Repository

Contact:
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350