Skip to main content

Warren Spencer Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 121

Scope and Contents

This collection contains a draft and an original manuscript of the Whittle Papers, original letters, and photocopies of original documents (with transcriptions), notes, books, and a copy of a photograph of Lt. William Conway Whittle. The collection was assembled by Warren Spencer, professor of history at Old Dominion University.

Dates

  • 1864-1988, undated
  • Other: Date acquired: 10/21/2014

Creator

Extent

0.40 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

Open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

Dr. Warren F. Spencer taught in the Department of History at Old Dominion College from 1956 to 1967 and served as Department Chair from 1961 to 1967. Dr. Warren Spencer is the author of four books, including The Confederate Navy in Europe, Raphael Semmes: The Philosophical Mariner, and co-authored the United States and France: Civil War Diplomacy.

Note written by Mona Farrow

Language of Materials

English

Source of Acquisition

C.B. "Buddy" Spencer

Method of Acquisition

Gift. Accession #A2014-39

Related Materials

Whittle Family Papers (MG 95) contains information about the Whittle family.

Processing Information

The collection was processed by Mona Farrow in October 2015.
Title
A Guide to the Warren Spencer Collection
Author
Mona Farrow
Date
11/25/2015
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the Community Collections Repository

Contact:
3023 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350