Skip to main content

City council members--Virginia--Norfolk

 Topic
Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings

Found in 10 Collections and/or Records:

Mason C. Andrews Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 62
Abstract

Physician, former city council member and mayor of Norfolk. Served on Norfolk city council from 1974 to 2000 and as the city’s mayor from 1992-1994. Was instrumental in the development of the Eastern Virginia Medical School complex and the redevelopment of downtown Norfolk. The collection includes personal, business, and political papers.

Dates: circa 1777-2010, undated; Other: Date acquired: 10/14/1998; Majority of material found within 1950-1990
Found in: ODU Community Collections / Mason C. Andrews Papers

Benjamin A. Banks Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 6
Abstract

Lawyer and prominent member of the Norfolk Jewish community. Served on the Norfolk Board of Aldermen (1908-1911) and in the Virginia House of Delegates (1911-1913). Active in local, state and national politics. Includes personal and political correspondence, scrapbooks, letters to the editor, and photographs.

Dates: 1855-1974; Other: Date acquired: 05/18/1976
Found in: ODU Community Collections / Benjamin A. Banks Papers

Hugh Lee Butler Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 58
Abstract

Served on the Norfolk City Council from 1902 to 1938. Papers relate to his service on the Norfolk City Council during the Great Depression and as chairman of Local Draft Board No. 1 during World War I.

Dates: 1896-1953, undated; Other: Date acquired: 01/09/1985
Found in: ODU Community Collections / Hugh Lee Butler Papers

Joseph T. Fitzpatrick Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 118
Abstract

This collection consists of political documents, correspondence, clippings, artifacts, and other items pertaining to the career of Joseph T. Fitzpatrick.

Dates: 1895-2004, undated; Other: Date acquired: 01/24/1977
Found in: ODU Community Collections / Joseph T. Fitzpatrick Papers

Irvine B. Hill Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 100
Abstract

Irvine B. Hill has been a prominent broadcasting executive, politician, and civic leader in Norfolk, Virginia for over 40 years. This collection is made up of newspaper clippings during Hill’s time as Norfolk mayor and city councilman, as well as photographs, correspondence and scrapbooks.

Dates: 1968-2009, undated; Other: Date acquired: 08/26/2008
Found in: ODU Community Collections / Irvine B. Hill Papers

Henry E. Howell, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 1
Abstract Henry Evans Howell, Jr. served in the General Assembly and as Lieutenant Governor (1971-1973). Unsuccessful candidate for Governor of Virginia three times (1969, 1973,1977). Bulk of the collection deals with his career in politics, first in Norfolk and, after 1968, on the statewide level. Documents Democratic Party affairs from 1948 through 1977. Also includes promotional audio and video clips created as part of Howell's campaigns for the Virginia governorship in 1969, 1973 and 1977....
Dates: circa 1928-1999, undated; Majority of material found within 1960-1978; Other: Date acquired: 11/04/1974
Found in: ODU Community Collections / Henry E. Howell, Jr. Papers

George Conoly Phillips Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 15
Abstract

Norfolk City Council member. Served as President of the United Drug Abuse Council and was active in the Inter-Christian Fellowship, the Christian Broadcasting Network, and the United Community Fund. Documents his activities in politics, business and civic affairs.

Dates: circa 1906-2010, undated; Other: Date acquired: 03/24/1977
Found in: ODU Community Collections / George Conoly Phillips Papers

Paul T. Schweitzer Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 16
Abstract

Norfolk businessman and member of the Norfolk School Board (1952-1960) and City Council (1960-1968) during the Massive Resistance crisis. Includes correspondence, legal documents, newspapers clippings, scrapbooks and photographs that primarily document his activities during Norfolk’s desegregation crisis.

Dates: circa 1952-1976, undated; Other: Date acquired: 04/01/1977
Found in: ODU Community Collections / Paul T. Schweitzer Papers

Joseph D. Wood Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 3
Abstract

President of the Wood Towing Company (Tugboats). Served on the Norfolk City Council (1926-1930, 1934-1944) and as Mayor (1940-1944) during World War II. Collection contains business papers, mayoral files, correspondence and the papers of his service on the Elizabeth River Tunnel Commission.

Dates: 1917-1951, undated; Other: Date acquired: 03/01/1976
Found in: ODU Community Collections / Joseph D. Wood Papers

Randy Wright Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 108
Abstract

The Randy Wright collection contains documents related to his political career ranging from 1986-2010

Dates: 1986-2010; Other: Date acquired: 09/10/2010
Found in: ODU Community Collections / Randy Wright Papers