Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing People/Organizations: 221 - 240 of 66596

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Type
Archival Object 66294
Collection 270
University Record 29
Repository 3
 
Topic
Old Dominion University--Faculty 33
Norfolk (Va.)--History--20th century 31
Norfolk (Va.)--Politics and government--20th century 29
Old Dominion University--History 28
Virginia--Politics and government 24
∨ more
School integration--Massive resistance movement 17
Old Dominion University--Reports 14
Civic leaders--Virginia--Norfolk 12
Music--United States--20th century 12
Hampton Roads (Va.)--History--20th century 11
letters (correspondence) 11
City council members--Virginia--Norfolk 10
Public schools--Virginia--Norfolk 9
School integration--Virginia--Norfolk--History--20th century 9
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 9
World War, 1939-1945--Veterans 9
College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division--Student life 8
Hampton Roads (Va. : Region) 8
Old Dominion University--Alumni and alumnae 8
Old Dominion University--History--20th century 8
Race relations--History--20th century 8
Segregation in education--Virginia--Norfolk 8
World War, 1939-1945 8
College publications--Virginia--Norfolk 7
Families--Virginia--History--19th century 7
Lawyers--Virginia--Norfolk 7
Old Dominion University--Student life 7
United States. Navy--Officers 7
photographs 7
African Americans--Education--Virginia--Norfolk 6
Old Dominion College--Student life 6
Old Dominion University--Administrators 6
United States--Politics and government--20th century 6
Virginia--Genealogy 6
minutes (administrative records) 6
Artists--United States 5
College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division--Faculty 5
Families--Virginia--History--20th century 5
Legislators--Virginia--Hampton Roads 5
Old Dominion University--Student organizations 5
Orchestral music--Virginia 5
Virginia--Politics and government--1865-1950 5
scrapbooks 5
African Americans--Civil rights 4
Businessmen--Virginia--Norfolk 4
Gay rights--United States--History--20th century 4
Mayors--Virginia--Norfolk 4
Old Dominion University--Commencement 4
Old Dominion University--Fraternities 4
Old Dominion University. School of Business Administration 4
School closings--Virginia--Norfolk 4
Vocal Music--20th century 4
World War, 1914-1918 4
African Americans--Segregation 3
Arts--Virginia 3
College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division--Student organizations 3
Confederate States of America. Army 3
Creative writing 3
Democratic Party (Va.) 3
Distance education 3
Equality 3
Hampton Roads (Va.)--Photographs 3
Housing--Virginia--Norfolk 3
Old Dominion University--Buildings and grounds 3
Old Dominion University--Sororities 3
Old Dominion University--Sports 3
Old Dominion University--Statistics 3
Orchestral musicians--Virginia 3
School integration--Law and legislation--United States--Cases 3
Segregation in education--Virginia--History--20th century 3
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Naval operations 3
United States. Navy--History 3
Universities and colleges--Administration 3
Women's rights 3
programs (documents) 3
African Americans--History 2
Arts--Virginia--Hampton Roads (Region) 2
Athletics 2
Authors--United States 2
Baritone (Musical instrument) 2
Brown vs. Board of Education of Topeka 2
Businesses--Virginia--Norfolk 2
Busing for school integration--Virginia--Norfolk 2
College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division--History 2
College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division--Sports 2
Composers 2
Equal rights amendments--United States 2
Families--New England--History--19th century 2
Festivals in literature 2
Gadfly literary magazine (Old Dominion University, Norfolk, Va.) 2
Gay people--United States--History--20th century. 2
Hampton Roads (Va. : Region)--History, Military 2
Hampton Roads (Va.)--Maps 2
Housing--United States 2
Jamestown Ter-centennial Exposition (1907) 2
Journalists--United States 2
Korean War, 1950-1953--Veterans 2
Lectures and lecturing--Virginia--Norfolk--History--20th century 2
Norfolk (Va.)--Intellectual life--20th century 2
Old Dominion College--History 2
∧ less
 

1983-1984 Basketball Team with Big Blue, circa 1983-1984

 Item — Oversize Box: 104
Identifier: Item 11
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series contains photographs larger than 8 1/2 x 11. These include framed and unframed photos. Note, as of 4/1/2022, formerly Oversize Boxes 1-7 are now Boxes 101-107.

Dates: circa 1983-1984
Found in: ODU University Archives / RG 32, Old Dominion University Photographic and Multimedia Collection / Series III: Oversize Photographs / Oversize Box 104

2000 Plan for Downtown Norfolk, 1991

 Item — Map Case: C2
Identifier: Item 9
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

This sub-series pertains to redevelopment in Downtown Norfolk, in which Dr. Mason C. Andrews was very instrumental in. Items include correspondence, newspaper clippings, photographs, and photographic slides. Information on Waterside, Harbor Park, and MacArthur Center is included.

Dates: 1991
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 62, Mason C. Andrews Papers / Record Group II: Second Accession / Series III: Norfolk City Council / Sub-Series B: Norfolk Redevelopment

09/06/01 #1, 2001 September 6

 Item — Box: 78
Identifier: Item 1
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

This sub-series contains micro cassettes from 2001. Materials are arranged chronologically.

Dates: 2001 September 6
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 81-A, Virginia Symphony Orchestra Records / Series II: Multimedia / Sub-Series G: Microcassettes / Box 78

09/06/01 #2, 2001 September 6

 Item — Box: 78
Identifier: Item 2
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

This sub-series contains micro cassettes from 2001. Materials are arranged chronologically.

Dates: 2001 September 6
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 81-A, Virginia Symphony Orchestra Records / Series II: Multimedia / Sub-Series G: Microcassettes / Box 78

A 65 lb. birthday cake for Dr. J.A.C. Chandler, President Of William And Mary, (left to right are Chandler, Governor Pollard, Mrs. W.M. Cook, Mayor S. Heth Tyler, and Mrs. Frantz Naylor), October 29, 1930

 Item
Identifier: Item 4
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series contains photographs larger than 8 1/2 x 11. These include framed and unframed photos. Note, as of 4/1/2022, formerly Oversize Boxes 1-7 are now Boxes 101-107.

Dates: October 29, 1930
Found in: ODU University Archives / RG 32, Old Dominion University Photographic and Multimedia Collection / Series III: Oversize Photographs / Framed Photos on Wall in Archives Storage Room

A. Calhoun to Elie Beatty, 1835 January 5

 Item — Box: 1
Identifier: Item 2
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

The collection consists of letters and financial transactions related to Elie Beatty, a cashier at the Hagerstown Bank.

Dates: 1835 January 5
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 22, Elie Beatty Papers / Box 1

A Cappella III: The American Tradition, 1999 May 23

 File — Box: 4
Identifier: CD 1
Scope and Contents

One CD of a performance by Schola Cantorum at Eastern Shore Chapel in Virginia Beach, Virginia with Dr. David L. Means conducting.

Dates: 1999 May 23
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 80, Schola Cantorum Records / Series III: Audiovisual / Box 4

"A Chance to Be Somebody," Reel-to-Reel, undated

 Item — Box: 55
Identifier: Item 1
Scope and Contents

Film Score music tracks 7 1/2 ips Composed and conducted by John Duffy

Dates: undated
Found in: ODU Diehn Composers Room Collection / DCR MG 15, John Duffy Papers / Series VII: Recordings / Box 55

A Christmas Carol Poster, 2002 December

 Item — Oversize Box: 48
Identifier: Item 21
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series contains artifacts relating to the Virginia Opera. Included are promotional pins, bumper stickers, t-shirts, key chains, Virginia Opera posters, and a folder of oversize newspaper articles.

Dates: 2002 December
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 85, Virginia Opera Records / Series IX: Artifacts / Oversize Box 48

A Christmas Carol Poster (2 copies), undated

 Item — Oversize Box: 48
Identifier: Item 7
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series contains artifacts relating to the Virginia Opera. Included are promotional pins, bumper stickers, t-shirts, key chains, Virginia Opera posters, and a folder of oversize newspaper articles.

Dates: undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 85, Virginia Opera Records / Series IX: Artifacts / Oversize Box 48

A Conversation with Martin Espada: Race, Culture, Rage and Compassion, 2:00 pm, 1997 October 16

 Item — Box: 7
Identifier: Item 3
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Video from many of the Literary Festivals has been recorded in VHS format - either originally or the video has been migrated to this media format. There are notable gaps as not all Festivals were recorded; not all speakers were recorded for Festivals that were video taped; and some years were recorded using a different media type and not VHS. This sub-series may be appended, should future festivals be recorded in this format.

Dates: 1997 October 16
Found in: ODU University Archives / RG 17-3A1, Literary Festival Collection / Series II: Videotapes / Sub-Series C: VHS Tapes / Sub-Group 4: 20th Annual Literary Festival / Box 7

A Couple O'Songs for Frank "Romance/Crawlin"-Bluebeards-Audio Recording Made on Basic Audio Tape, undated

 Item — Box: 85
Identifier: Item 11
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

This sub-series pertains to audio cassette tapes containing music written and produced by Guida, as well as Guida’s other works (music and background sounds for his play “Just Us”; commercials for Jeno’s Pizza), and taped radio interviews.

Dates: undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 128, Frank and Carmela Guida/Rockmasters International Network, Inc. Collection / Series VIII: Audio Visual / Sub-Series B: Cassette Tapes / Box 85

A Decade of Excellence, Virginia Opera (2 copies), 1984-1985

 Item — Oversize Box: 48
Identifier: Item 9
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series contains artifacts relating to the Virginia Opera. Included are promotional pins, bumper stickers, t-shirts, key chains, Virginia Opera posters, and a folder of oversize newspaper articles.

Dates: 1984-1985
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 85, Virginia Opera Records / Series IX: Artifacts / Oversize Box 48

"A Description of Myself" by Helen Atkinson Evans Ferguson, 1890 October

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 5
Identifier: Item 2
Scope and Contents From the Collection: The collection principally consists of material relating to Finlay Forbes Ferguson's numerous descendants, including family trees, birth and death registers, correspondence, deeds, remembrances, newspaper clippings, and a diary. The papers also consist of material, notably photographs, relating to Ferguson's involvement in the restoration of several of Hampton Roads' historic houses, including the Willoughby-Baylor House, the Moses Myers House, and the Adam Thoroughgood House. Of special...
Dates: 1890 October
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 50, Finlay Forbes Ferguson Papers / Box 1 / Folder 5: Family Remembrances

A Final Celebration. Stephen Dunn, 8:00 pm, 2002 October 5

 Item — Box: 10
Identifier: Item 2
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Video from many of the Literary Festivals has been recorded in VHS format - either originally or the video has been migrated to this media format. There are notable gaps as not all Festivals were recorded; not all speakers were recorded for Festivals that were video taped; and some years were recorded using a different media type and not VHS. This sub-series may be appended, should future festivals be recorded in this format.

Dates: 2002 October 5
Found in: ODU University Archives / RG 17-3A1, Literary Festival Collection / Series II: Videotapes / Sub-Series C: VHS Tapes / Sub-Group 9: 25th Annual Literary Festival / Box 10

A Final Celebration. Stephen Dunn. Part 1, 8:00 pm, 2002 October 5

 Item — Box: 15
Identifier: Item 30
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Compact discs are the most common storage method for digitized video from the Festivals. As such, there are compact discs for virtually every year of the festival that were recorded. This sub-series may be appended, should digitized video from future festivals be stored in this media format.

Dates: 2002 October 5
Found in: ODU University Archives / RG 17-3A1, Literary Festival Collection / Series III: Digitized Video / Sub-Series A: Storage Compact Discs (CDs) / Sub-Group 9: 25th Annual Literary Festival / Box 15

A Final Celebration. Stephen Dunn. Part 2, 8:00 pm, 2002 October 5

 Item — Box: 15
Identifier: Item 31
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Compact discs are the most common storage method for digitized video from the Festivals. As such, there are compact discs for virtually every year of the festival that were recorded. This sub-series may be appended, should digitized video from future festivals be stored in this media format.

Dates: 2002 October 5
Found in: ODU University Archives / RG 17-3A1, Literary Festival Collection / Series III: Digitized Video / Sub-Series A: Storage Compact Discs (CDs) / Sub-Group 9: 25th Annual Literary Festival / Box 15

A Garland of Favorites for Ludwig and Virginia Diehn, 1971 August

 Item — Box: 59
Identifier: Item 1
Scope and Contents

3 3/4 IPS

Dates: 1971 August
Found in: ODU Diehn Composers Room Collection / DCR MG 1, F. Ludwig Diehn Papers / Series II: Audio Recordings / Sub-Series 3: Reel to Reels / Sub-Group 1: 7 Inch Reels / Box 59

"A Larger Vision..." Jim Rouse and the American City, 1994

 Item — Box: 45
Identifier: Item 3
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Contains material related to various Norfolk city government issues.

Dates: 1994
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 62, Mason C. Andrews Papers / Record Group I: First Accession / Series VIII: Binders and Published Materials / Sub-Series A: City Government / Box 45

A Legislator’s Guide to Public Education in Virginia, 1993 December

 Item — Box: 46
Identifier: Item 1
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series consists of loose books and binders of compiled materials that Walker kept in regard to issues within the Virginia General Assembly and his Senate campaigns.

Dates: 1993 December
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 28, Stanley Clay Walker Papers / Series III: Legislative Files / Box 46