Special Collections and University Archives Collection Guides

Scope and Contents From the Series:

The political papers consist of some correspondence, publications, clippings and briefs in the Virginia reapportionment cases. The speech file is principally political speeches.

Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series consists of additions to the collection related to White's time in the Virginia House of Delegates. The series is arranged in alphabetical order.

Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series contains media guides, programs, tickets, and other material on intercollegiate athletic programs at ODU.

Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series contains the subject files of the Dean of the School of Business Administration.

Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Contains materials on the economy of Norfolk, which includes reports; statistics; fiscal year budgets and economic development plans. The materials date from 1963 to 2002. The sub-series is arranged alphabetically.

Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Contains information on the cruise industry in Norfolk, pertaining to the Virginia Cruise Corporation. Materials also include information on the Cunard (QE2) cruise line and the Holland-American Line. The materials date from 1961 to 1985. The sub-series is arranged alphabetically.

Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series contains subject files from the Vice President for Administration and Finance.

Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

This sub-series contains material regarding Women

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Captain Wood was president of Wood Towing Corporation (Tugboats), a member of the Norfolk City Council (1926-1930, 1934-1944), and mayor of Norfolk (1940-1944). He also served on a number of public boards, most notably the Elizabeth River Tunnel Commission. His papers are divided into six sub-groups: personal, public service (non-political), business, mayoral files, City of Norfolk data, and polltical papers. The personal papers contain some family genealogy, correspondence, his...

Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

This sub-series contains material from Conoly Phillips' time on the Norfolk City Council. Included are correspondence, budgets, reports, press releases, articles, projects and proposals, and materials related to the Finance and Infrastructure Committee.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Scope and Contents: Record Group I: Accessions 1-5 The bulk of this record group deals with Mr. Howell's political career, first in Norfolk, Virginia, and, after 1968, on the statewide level as well. The specifically political papers deal with Howell's involvement in political campaigns and Democratic Party affairs. Most of this consists of correspondence, miscellaneous records and campaign materials from his own campaigns for office, especially those for Governor in...

Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Contains City of Norfolk election materials, campaign materials, and voting information. The dates of these materials range from the 1952 to the 1992. The sub-series is arranged alphabetically.

Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

This sub-series contains material from Conoly Phillips' campaigns for Norfolk City Council. Included are correspondence; cards and letters of support and congratulations; speeches; campaign committee agendas; press releases; campaign materials; commitment schedules; information on budgets, donations, and expenditures; contact and mailing lists; candidate petitions; articles; and polling information.

Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

This sub-series contains material from Conoly Phillips' campaigns for Norfolk City Council. Included are correspondence; cards and letters of support and congratulations; speeches; campaign committee agendas; press releases; campaign materials; commitment schedules; information on budgets, donations, and expenditures; contact and mailing lists; candidate petitions; articles; and polling information.

Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

This sub-series contains material from Conoly Phillips' campaigns for Norfolk City Council. Included are correspondence; cards and letters of support and congratulations; speeches; campaign committee agendas; press releases; campaign materials; commitment schedules; information on budgets, donations, and expenditures; contact and mailing lists; candidate petitions; articles; and polling information.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Scope and Contents: Record Group I: Accessions 1-5 The bulk of this record group deals with Mr. Howell's political career, first in Norfolk, Virginia, and, after 1968, on the statewide level as well. The specifically political papers deal with Howell's involvement in political campaigns and Democratic Party affairs. Most of this consists of correspondence, miscellaneous records and campaign materials from his own campaigns for office, especially those for Governor in...

Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

This sub-series contains correspondence, meeting agendas, and other materials from various medical societies.

Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series: This sub-series contains information on projects, programs, and studies carried out by the Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority. Included is information on low-income housing projects, war housing during World War II, slum clearance, downtown revitalization, the U.S. Model City Program, the Norfolk General Hospital and Norfolk Medical College, the Norfolk Industrial Park, the Norfolk Cultural and Convention Center (the Scope), and other projects, programs, and studies of the NRHA....

Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series: This sub-series contains information on projects, programs, and studies carried out by the Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority. Included is information on low-income housing projects, war housing during World War II, slum clearance, downtown revitalization, the U.S. Model City Program, the Norfolk General Hospital and Norfolk Medical College, the Norfolk Industrial Park, the Norfolk Cultural and Convention Center (the Scope), and other projects, programs, and studies of the NRHA....

Scope and Contents From the Series: This series contains a multitude of information regarding Norfolk schools during the 1960s and 1970s. It includes court required reports, internal memorandum, court documents including depositions, and test scores. There are studies and statistics maintained regarding the representation of African Americans both in the staffs of schools and in administrative positions. The city was required to present data regarding both enrollment and test scores by race. Additionally, there was significant...