Special Collections and University Archives Collection Guides

Abstract

Represented the 5th District in the Virginia State Senate from 1967-1987. Collection primarily relates to his service in the State Senate from 1972-1979.

Abstract

Lawyer and prominent member of the Norfolk Jewish community. Served on the Norfolk Board of Aldermen (1908-1911) and in the Virginia House of Delegates (1911-1913). Active in local, state and national politics. Includes personal and political correspondence, scrapbooks, letters to the editor, and photographs.

Abstract

Episcopal priest, active in Virginia Democratic Politics. Served on the Committee for Fair Redistricting, Airlie Foundation, and the Virginia Political Study Group. Was active in Henry Howell’s political campaigns. The collection includes papers on political issues in Virginia during the 1960’s and 1970’s.

Abstract

This collection consists of political documents, correspondence, clippings, artifacts, and other items pertaining to the career of Joseph T. Fitzpatrick.

Abstract

Member of the Virginia House of Delegates (1979-1982), founder and president of the Virginia Opera Association, and unsuccessful candidate for United States Senator in 1984 against incumbent Republican, Senator John Warner. The first woman in Virginia nominated by the Democratic Party for statewide office. Collection primarily relates to her activities in politics and the 1984 Senatorial campaign.

Abstract

Old Dominion University Sociology Professor. Received his Ph.D. from the University of Akron in 1978. Author of the book, "Power and Influence in a Southern City." Based on his doctoral thesis, the book explores the power structure of a "Colonial City", which is actually the city of Norfolk, Virginia. The collection relates mainly to his thesis. It includes rough drafts, notes, tapes and transcripts of interviews with prominent Norfolk figures in 1978.

Abstract Henry Evans Howell, Jr. served in the General Assembly and as Lieutenant Governor (1971-1973). Unsuccessful candidate for Governor of Virginia three times (1969, 1973,1977). Bulk of the collection deals with his career in politics, first in Norfolk and, after 1968, on the statewide level. Documents Democratic Party affairs from 1948 through 1977. Also includes promotional audio and video clips created as part of Howell's campaigns for the Virginia governorship in 1969, 1973 and 1977....

Abstract

Writer for "The Northern Virginia Sun." A collection of columns written by Augustus C. Johnson from September 1970 through December 1971. The columns relate primarily to the politics of Virginia’s 10th congressional district. Personalities discussed in them include Joel T. Broyhill, Henry E. Howell, George Rawlings, Harry F. Byrd, Jr., William B. Spong, Linwood Holton and Mills Godwin.

Abstract

Includes handbooks, correspondence, newsletters, agendas, minutes, membership lists, and financial records of the League of Women Voters of Hampton Roads. Contains information on the action program, education fund, speakers bureau, voters service, and studies on various issues.

Scope and Contents The collection consists of copies of regional and national newspaper clippings covering the “Massive Resistance” movement and public reaction to the desegregation and subsequent closing of some of Norfolk’s public schools. Also discussed are state and local politicians such as Governor Lindsay Almond, Jr., who ordered the closing the Norfolk schools that enrolled African American students, and Mayor William Fred Duckworth, who opposed the desegregation of the public schools. Some of the...

Abstract

Dennis McCurdy was a radio news broadcaster for WPMH News and Public Affairs. Contains reel to reel audiotapes of interviews, speeches, and events regarding politics.

Abstract

Served in the Virginia General Assembly as a member of the House of Delegates (1968-1971) and the Senate (1972-1976). Consists of records of his service in the General Assembly, 1968-1976, including publications of state agencies and correspondence as member of the State Water Control Board.

Abstract

Engineer and Virginia State Delegate. Served three terms in the Virginia House of Delegates. Most of the collection pertains to his political career. Also included is material related to his days as a student athlete at Norview High School and VPI.

Abstract

The Collection of Paula J. Miller consists of documents relating to Miller’s time in office of the Virginia House of Delegates from election in 2005 through 2012.

Abstract

The collection contains documents used by Dr. Neff during the development of his master’s thesis, “The Defenders of State Sovereignty and Individual Liberties, 1954-1967.”

Abstract

Norfolk City Council member. Served as President of the United Drug Abuse Council and was active in the Inter-Christian Fellowship, the Christian Broadcasting Network, and the United Community Fund. Documents his activities in politics, business and civic affairs.

Abstract

Political correspondent for the Norfolk Ledger-Star and Norfolk Ledger-Dispatch for 26 years. Primarily newspaper columns from the Ledger-Star and background material used to research articles.

Abstract

President and chairman of Henry B. Gilprin, a wholesale drug firm. Served in the General Assembly from 1948-1968, holding a powerful position on the Appropriations Committee. Served on the Norfolk Planning Commission. The bulk of the collection contains legislative correspondence from 1963-1964.

Abstract Served on the U.S. House of Representative for the 2nd Congressional District of Virginia from January 2001 to January 2005. His political and voting record is aligned closely with the Republican Party. Materials in this collection date from 1999 to 2004. They include constituent feedback in the form of letters, postcards, surveys, and public opinion ballots. Also included are other correspondence and reference material related to various issues and legislation and materials related to the...

Abstract

Served in both the House of Delegates (1929-1941) and the State Senate (1941-1952), and as Lieutenant Governor (1952-1961). Ran unsuccessfully for the Democratic nomination for Governor in 1961 against Albertis Harrison. Centers around this unsuccessful campaign and contains papers focusing on the issue of Massive Resistance to integration, dating to the early 1950s.