Showing Collections: 221 - 240 of 270
Filter Results
Additional filters:
- Repository
- ODU University Archives 131
- ODU Community Collections 125
- ODU Diehn Composers Room Collection 14
- Topic
- Old Dominion University--Faculty 33
- Norfolk (Va.)--History--20th century 31
- Norfolk (Va.)--Politics and government--20th century 29
- Old Dominion University--History 28
- Virginia--Politics and government 24
- School integration--Massive resistance movement 17
- Old Dominion University--Reports 14
- Civic leaders--Virginia--Norfolk 12
- Music--United States--20th century 12
- Hampton Roads (Va.)--History--20th century 11
- letters (correspondence) 11
- City council members--Virginia--Norfolk 10
- Public schools--Virginia--Norfolk 9
- School integration--Virginia--Norfolk--History--20th century 9
- United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 9
- World War, 1939-1945--Veterans 9
- College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division--Student life 8
- Hampton Roads (Va. : Region) 8
- Old Dominion University--Alumni and alumnae 8
- Old Dominion University--History--20th century 8
- Race relations--History--20th century 8
- Segregation in education--Virginia--Norfolk 8
- World War, 1939-1945 8
- College publications--Virginia--Norfolk 7
- Families--Virginia--History--19th century 7
- Lawyers--Virginia--Norfolk 7
- Old Dominion University--Student life 7
- United States. Navy--Officers 7
- photographs 7
- African Americans--Education--Virginia--Norfolk 6
- Old Dominion College--Student life 6
- Old Dominion University--Administrators 6
- United States--Politics and government--20th century 6
- Virginia--Genealogy 6
- minutes (administrative records) 6
- Artists--United States 5
- College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division--Faculty 5
- Families--Virginia--History--20th century 5
- Legislators--Virginia--Hampton Roads 5
- Old Dominion University--Student organizations 5
- Orchestral music--Virginia 5
- Virginia--Politics and government--1865-1950 5
- scrapbooks 5
- African Americans--Civil rights 4
- Businessmen--Virginia--Norfolk 4
- Gay rights--United States--History--20th century 4
- Mayors--Virginia--Norfolk 4
- Old Dominion University--Commencement 4
- Old Dominion University--Fraternities 4
- Old Dominion University. School of Business Administration 4
- School closings--Virginia--Norfolk 4
- Vocal Music--20th century 4
- World War, 1914-1918 4
- African Americans--Segregation 3
- Arts--Virginia 3
- College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division--Student organizations 3
- Confederate States of America. Army 3
- Creative writing 3
- Democratic Party (Va.) 3
- Distance education 3
- Equality 3
- Hampton Roads (Va.)--Photographs 3
- Housing--Virginia--Norfolk 3
- Old Dominion University--Buildings and grounds 3
- Old Dominion University--Sororities 3
- Old Dominion University--Sports 3
- Old Dominion University--Statistics 3
- Orchestral musicians--Virginia 3
- School integration--Law and legislation--United States--Cases 3
- Segregation in education--Virginia--History--20th century 3
- United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Naval operations 3
- United States. Navy--History 3
- Universities and colleges--Administration 3
- Women's rights 3
- programs (documents) 3
- African Americans--History 2
- Arts--Virginia--Hampton Roads (Region) 2
- Athletics 2
- Authors--United States 2
- Baritone (Musical instrument) 2
- Brown vs. Board of Education of Topeka 2
- Businesses--Virginia--Norfolk 2
- Busing for school integration--Virginia--Norfolk 2
- College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division--History 2
- College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division--Sports 2
- Composers 2
- Equal rights amendments--United States 2
- Families--New England--History--19th century 2
- Festivals in literature 2
- Gadfly literary magazine (Old Dominion University, Norfolk, Va.) 2
- Gay people--United States--History--20th century. 2
- Hampton Roads (Va. : Region)--History, Military 2
- Hampton Roads (Va.)--Maps 2
- Housing--United States 2
- Jamestown Ter-centennial Exposition (1907) 2
- Journalists--United States 2
- Korean War, 1950-1953--Veterans 2
- Lectures and lecturing--Virginia--Norfolk--History--20th century 2
- Norfolk (Va.)--Intellectual life--20th century 2
- Old Dominion College--History 2 ∧ less
- Language
- German 3
- Italian 2
- Spanish; Castilian 2
- French 1
- Yiddish 1
- People/Organizations
- Old Dominion University 56
- College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division 16
- Virginia. General Assembly 13
- Old Dominion College 11
- Virginia. General Assembly. House of Delegates 10
- Old Dominion University. Department of English 8
- Old Dominion University. Board of Visitors 6
- Old Dominion University. Department of Women's Studies 6
- Virginia Symphony 6
- Old Dominion University. Department of Art 5
- Old Dominion University. Department of History 5
- Norfolk College of William and Mary 4
- Norfolk School Board (Norfolk, Va.) 4
- United States. Navy 4
- Virginia Opera Association 4
- Virginia. General Assembly. Senate 4
- Eastern Virginia Medical School 3
- Howell, Henry E. (Henry Evans) (1920-1997) 3
- Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority 3
- Old Dominion University. Department of Music 3
- Old Dominion University. Human Resources 3
- Old Dominion University. Office of the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs 3
- United States. Congress. House 3
- Women's Council for Interracial Cooperation (Norfolk, Va.) 3
- College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 2
- Cox, Lawrence Morgan, Sr. (1912-2002) 2
- Diehn, Fr. L. (Friedrich Ludwig) (1910-1995) 2
- Frank, Willard C., Jr. (1936-2011) 2
- Lesley, Everett Parker, Jr. (1913-1982) 2
- Lyric Opera of Virginia 2
- MacArthur Memorial 2
- MacArthur, Douglas 2
- Mason, Vivian Carter (1900-1982) 2
- Maury High School (Norfolk, Va.) 2
- National Association for the Advancement of Colored People 2
- Norfolk Museum of Arts and Sciences (Va.) 2
- Old Dominion College. Board of Visitors 2
- Old Dominion University. Darden School of Education 2
- Old Dominion University. Department of Business Administration 2
- Old Dominion University. Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice 2
- Old Dominion University. Intercollegiate Athletics 2
- Old Dominion University. Libraries 2
- Old Dominion University. Libraries. F. Ludwig Diehn Composers Room 2
- Old Dominion University. Office of Alumni Relations 2
- Old Dominion University. Office of Continuing Education 2
- Old Dominion University. Office of University Events 2
- Old Dominion University. Office of the Vice President for University Advancement 2
- Old Dominion University. School of Business Administration 2
- Old Dominion University. School of Continuing Education 2
- Old Dominion University. Vice President for Administration and Finance 2
- Old Dominion University. Women's Caucus 2
- Old Dominion University. Women's Center 2
- Phillips, George Conoly (1931-2020) 2
- Robertson, Pat (1930-) 2
- Ross, Walter (1936-) 2
- Strong, Fred (1952-) 2
- Sweeney, James R. 2
- Town-N-Gown (Norfolk, Va.) 2
- United States. Supreme Court 2
- Virginia Commonwealth University 2
- Whitehurst, G. William (1925-) 2
- Whittle family 2
- Yaco, Sonia (1957-) 2
- 39th Georgia Regiment 1
- AIDS Fund, Inc. 1
- Abbott, Carl (1944-) 1
- Adams, Clifford L. (1915-1999) 1
- Ainsworth family 1
- Aison, Howard B. (Howard Bertram) (1920-1997) 1
- Alan B. Shepard Convention Center (Virginia Beach, Va.) 1
- Allen family 1
- Allen-Johnson family 1
- Ambrose, Herbert 1
- American Association of Retired Persons. Virginia 1
- American Association of University Professors 1
- American Association of University Women. Norfolk Branch 1
- American Basketball Association 1
- American Physical Therapy Association 1
- American Red Cross 1
- American String Teachers Association 1
- Anderson, Allen (Allen L.) 1
- Andrews, Mason Cooke (1919-2006) 1
- Ansel, Walter C. (1897-1977) 1
- Armstead family 1
- Assembly on the Dimensions of Hunger and Malnutrition 1
- Association for the Promotion of New Music 1
- Association of Writers & Writing Programs 1
- Babalas, Peter K. (1922-1987) 1
- Bachus family 1
- Bader, Eleanor J. (1922-2013) 1
- Bank of Chambersburg (Franklin, Pa.) 1
- Banks, Benjamin A. (1884-1974) 1
- Baptist Student Union 1
- Barnum, P. T. (Phineas Taylor) (1810-1891) 1
- Barron, James S. (1875-1941) 1
- Beatty, Elie 1
- Bell, Walter Herman (1900-1982) 1
- Berent, Irwin M. 1
- Beta Sigma Phi 1
- Blank, Allan (1925-2013) 1 ∧ less
James R. Sweeney Papers
This collection includes material related to Old Dominion University and Hampton Roads history collected by Dr. James R. Sweeney, associate professor of history and former University Archivist.
Samuel Leyens Switzer Papers
Department store owner in Vicksburg, Mississippi. Includes correspondence, literary productions, legal documents, newspaper and magazine clippings, maps, memorabilia and photographs. Collection documents his service as an artillery officer in World War I. Of note are maps of Europe detailing battle positions and troop movements in World War I.
Bertha Fanning Taylor Papers
Came to Norfolk in 1945 as Curator of the Sloane Collection at the Heritage Foundation Museum. Taught art courses at the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary until 1951. Includes literary productions, printed materials, correspondence, photographs, memorabilia, scrapbooks, and charts. In addition to the artistic significance of the papers, the collection documents the history of Norfolk, especially in the arts.
Calvert Walke Tazewell Papers
Retired USAF lieutenant colonel, author, publisher, local historian. The collection includes papers from Tazewell’s years as president of the Norfolk Historical Society and Virginia History Federation. Also included is information on the Boush-Tazewell-Waller House and papers of Philip Brower, former archivist of the MacArthur Memorial in Norfolk. Brower’s papers include research on General Douglas MacArthur, personal papers and papers regarding the MacArthur Memorial Archives.
Tidewater History Collection
The Tidewater History Collection contains materials such as, newspaper clippings, whole newspapers, magazines, maps, and pamphlets related to the communities of Hampton Roads, with primary focus on Norfolk.
A. Rufus Tonelson Papers
Papers primarily relate to his teaching experience at Old Dominion College and University.
Town-N-Gown Records
This collection contains minutes and membership directories for the Town-N-Gown, an organization dedicated to fostering good relationships between Old Dominion University, national defense forces (ex. Navy), and the Hampton Roads community.
Transatlantic Cable Collection
Small collection of items related to the Atlantic Ocean: A framed segment of cable used in the first transatlantic telegraph connection, 1858; a document certifying the cable’s authenticity; a photograph of the USCG ship Marmer, 1959 and an undated photograph of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration’s ship Discoverer.
Admiral John Randolph Tucker Papers
Commander in the United States, Confederate States and Peruvian Navy. Papers deal primarily with his service as President of the Peruvian Hydrographical Commission of the Amazon. Spanish language materials predominate.
Caroline Heath Tunstall Papers
Unitarian Universalist Church of Norfolk Records
The collection contains administrative materials, publications, articles, research materials, photographs, and audio-visual items pertaining to the Unitarian Universalist Church of Norfolk.
USS Iowa (BB-4) Navy Band Photograph Album
USS Vulcan (AR-5) Collection
Navy repair vessel. Served in both the European and Pacific theaters during World War II. Participated in the Occupation of Japan (1945-1946) and the Dominican Republic intervention (1965). Contains historical material, memorabilia, crew member recollections, press releases, newspaper clippings, and photographs.
Emma Lou Vaughan Papers
The collection contains a hand-written oral story told to Emma Lou Vaughan by her grandfather of his work on the underground railroad in Kentucky.
Virginia Beach Resorts Research Collection
This research collection contains photocopies of newspaper articles related to Seaview and other African American beach resorts, Seashore State Park, and Dudley Cooper, who operated both Ocean View Amusement Park and Seaview Beach and Amusement Park. Any copies made from the collection are for research purposes only.
Archive of Virginia Composers
Includes biographical information, taped interviews, audio recordings on vinyl discs, open reel and cassette tapes, copies of published works, original and photocopies of manuscripts (including sheet music), as well as other material related to the Archive of Virginia Composers.
Virginia Epsylon Sorority Charm and Ring
This collection consists of a sterling silver charm and ring given out to members of Virginia Epsylon, one of the sororities at the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary. The charm is in the shape of a graduation cap, and the ring has a depiction of a crown in the center, with the words "College of William and Mary Norfolk" surrounding it.
Virginia House of Delegates Videotape Collection
A collection containing 78 ¾ inch videotapes dating from January 13 to March 13, 1982, of the House of Delegates in session.
Virginia Opera Records
Consists of Virginia Opera programs, guides, newspaper clippings, magazine articles. Also includes administrative records, correspondence, audio-visual materials, artifacts, and posters.
Virginia Stage Company Records
Originally founded as the Norfolk Theater Center in 1968 and later renamed in 1978, the Virginia Stage Company is Hampton Roads only professional theater company. The VSC produces six plays per year running from September through April. In addition to theater productions, the organization provides educational and community engagement programs including student matinees, in-school tours, workshops, and a summer theater camp.