Showing Collections: 201 - 220 of 270
Filter Results
Additional filters:
- Repository
- ODU University Archives 131
- ODU Community Collections 125
- ODU Diehn Composers Room Collection 14
- Topic
- Old Dominion University--Faculty 33
- Norfolk (Va.)--History--20th century 31
- Norfolk (Va.)--Politics and government--20th century 29
- Old Dominion University--History 28
- Virginia--Politics and government 24
- School integration--Massive resistance movement 17
- Old Dominion University--Reports 14
- Civic leaders--Virginia--Norfolk 12
- Music--United States--20th century 12
- Hampton Roads (Va.)--History--20th century 11
- letters (correspondence) 11
- City council members--Virginia--Norfolk 10
- Public schools--Virginia--Norfolk 9
- School integration--Virginia--Norfolk--History--20th century 9
- United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 9
- World War, 1939-1945--Veterans 9
- College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division--Student life 8
- Hampton Roads (Va. : Region) 8
- Old Dominion University--Alumni and alumnae 8
- Old Dominion University--History--20th century 8
- Race relations--History--20th century 8
- Segregation in education--Virginia--Norfolk 8
- World War, 1939-1945 8
- College publications--Virginia--Norfolk 7
- Families--Virginia--History--19th century 7
- Lawyers--Virginia--Norfolk 7
- Old Dominion University--Student life 7
- United States. Navy--Officers 7
- photographs 7
- African Americans--Education--Virginia--Norfolk 6
- Old Dominion College--Student life 6
- Old Dominion University--Administrators 6
- United States--Politics and government--20th century 6
- Virginia--Genealogy 6
- minutes (administrative records) 6
- Artists--United States 5
- College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division--Faculty 5
- Families--Virginia--History--20th century 5
- Legislators--Virginia--Hampton Roads 5
- Old Dominion University--Student organizations 5
- Orchestral music--Virginia 5
- Virginia--Politics and government--1865-1950 5
- scrapbooks 5
- African Americans--Civil rights 4
- Businessmen--Virginia--Norfolk 4
- Gay rights--United States--History--20th century 4
- Mayors--Virginia--Norfolk 4
- Old Dominion University--Commencement 4
- Old Dominion University--Fraternities 4
- Old Dominion University. School of Business Administration 4
- School closings--Virginia--Norfolk 4
- Vocal Music--20th century 4
- World War, 1914-1918 4
- African Americans--Segregation 3
- Arts--Virginia 3
- College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division--Student organizations 3
- Confederate States of America. Army 3
- Creative writing 3
- Democratic Party (Va.) 3
- Distance education 3
- Equality 3
- Hampton Roads (Va.)--Photographs 3
- Housing--Virginia--Norfolk 3
- Old Dominion University--Buildings and grounds 3
- Old Dominion University--Sororities 3
- Old Dominion University--Sports 3
- Old Dominion University--Statistics 3
- Orchestral musicians--Virginia 3
- School integration--Law and legislation--United States--Cases 3
- Segregation in education--Virginia--History--20th century 3
- United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Naval operations 3
- United States. Navy--History 3
- Universities and colleges--Administration 3
- Women's rights 3
- programs (documents) 3
- African Americans--History 2
- Arts--Virginia--Hampton Roads (Region) 2
- Athletics 2
- Authors--United States 2
- Baritone (Musical instrument) 2
- Brown vs. Board of Education of Topeka 2
- Businesses--Virginia--Norfolk 2
- Busing for school integration--Virginia--Norfolk 2
- College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division--History 2
- College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division--Sports 2
- Composers 2
- Equal rights amendments--United States 2
- Families--New England--History--19th century 2
- Festivals in literature 2
- Gadfly literary magazine (Old Dominion University, Norfolk, Va.) 2
- Gay people--United States--History--20th century. 2
- Hampton Roads (Va. : Region)--History, Military 2
- Hampton Roads (Va.)--Maps 2
- Housing--United States 2
- Jamestown Ter-centennial Exposition (1907) 2
- Journalists--United States 2
- Korean War, 1950-1953--Veterans 2
- Lectures and lecturing--Virginia--Norfolk--History--20th century 2
- Norfolk (Va.)--Intellectual life--20th century 2
- Old Dominion College--History 2 ∧ less
- Language
- German 3
- Italian 2
- Spanish; Castilian 2
- French 1
- Yiddish 1
- People/Organizations
- Old Dominion University 56
- College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division 16
- Virginia. General Assembly 13
- Old Dominion College 11
- Virginia. General Assembly. House of Delegates 10
- Old Dominion University. Department of English 8
- Old Dominion University. Board of Visitors 6
- Old Dominion University. Department of Women's Studies 6
- Virginia Symphony 6
- Old Dominion University. Department of Art 5
- Old Dominion University. Department of History 5
- Norfolk College of William and Mary 4
- Norfolk School Board (Norfolk, Va.) 4
- United States. Navy 4
- Virginia Opera Association 4
- Virginia. General Assembly. Senate 4
- Eastern Virginia Medical School 3
- Howell, Henry E. (Henry Evans) (1920-1997) 3
- Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority 3
- Old Dominion University. Department of Music 3
- Old Dominion University. Human Resources 3
- Old Dominion University. Office of the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs 3
- United States. Congress. House 3
- Women's Council for Interracial Cooperation (Norfolk, Va.) 3
- College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 2
- Cox, Lawrence Morgan, Sr. (1912-2002) 2
- Diehn, Fr. L. (Friedrich Ludwig) (1910-1995) 2
- Frank, Willard C., Jr. (1936-2011) 2
- Lesley, Everett Parker, Jr. (1913-1982) 2
- Lyric Opera of Virginia 2
- MacArthur Memorial 2
- MacArthur, Douglas 2
- Mason, Vivian Carter (1900-1982) 2
- Maury High School (Norfolk, Va.) 2
- National Association for the Advancement of Colored People 2
- Norfolk Museum of Arts and Sciences (Va.) 2
- Old Dominion College. Board of Visitors 2
- Old Dominion University. Darden School of Education 2
- Old Dominion University. Department of Business Administration 2
- Old Dominion University. Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice 2
- Old Dominion University. Intercollegiate Athletics 2
- Old Dominion University. Libraries 2
- Old Dominion University. Libraries. F. Ludwig Diehn Composers Room 2
- Old Dominion University. Office of Alumni Relations 2
- Old Dominion University. Office of Continuing Education 2
- Old Dominion University. Office of University Events 2
- Old Dominion University. Office of the Vice President for University Advancement 2
- Old Dominion University. School of Business Administration 2
- Old Dominion University. School of Continuing Education 2
- Old Dominion University. Vice President for Administration and Finance 2
- Old Dominion University. Women's Caucus 2
- Old Dominion University. Women's Center 2
- Phillips, George Conoly (1931-2020) 2
- Robertson, Pat (1930-) 2
- Ross, Walter (1936-) 2
- Strong, Fred (1952-) 2
- Sweeney, James R. 2
- Town-N-Gown (Norfolk, Va.) 2
- United States. Supreme Court 2
- Virginia Commonwealth University 2
- Whitehurst, G. William (1925-) 2
- Whittle family 2
- Yaco, Sonia (1957-) 2
- 39th Georgia Regiment 1
- AIDS Fund, Inc. 1
- Abbott, Carl (1944-) 1
- Adams, Clifford L. (1915-1999) 1
- Ainsworth family 1
- Aison, Howard B. (Howard Bertram) (1920-1997) 1
- Alan B. Shepard Convention Center (Virginia Beach, Va.) 1
- Allen family 1
- Allen-Johnson family 1
- Ambrose, Herbert 1
- American Association of Retired Persons. Virginia 1
- American Association of University Professors 1
- American Association of University Women. Norfolk Branch 1
- American Basketball Association 1
- American Physical Therapy Association 1
- American Red Cross 1
- American String Teachers Association 1
- Anderson, Allen (Allen L.) 1
- Andrews, Mason Cooke (1919-2006) 1
- Ansel, Walter C. (1897-1977) 1
- Armstead family 1
- Assembly on the Dimensions of Hunger and Malnutrition 1
- Association for the Promotion of New Music 1
- Association of Writers & Writing Programs 1
- Babalas, Peter K. (1922-1987) 1
- Bachus family 1
- Bader, Eleanor J. (1922-2013) 1
- Bank of Chambersburg (Franklin, Pa.) 1
- Banks, Benjamin A. (1884-1974) 1
- Baptist Student Union 1
- Barnum, P. T. (Phineas Taylor) (1810-1891) 1
- Barron, James S. (1875-1941) 1
- Beatty, Elie 1
- Bell, Walter Herman (1900-1982) 1
- Berent, Irwin M. 1
- Beta Sigma Phi 1
- Blank, Allan (1925-2013) 1 ∧ less
Edward L. Schrock Papers
Paul T. Schweitzer Papers
Norfolk businessman and member of the Norfolk School Board (1952-1960) and City Council (1960-1968) during the Massive Resistance crisis. Includes correspondence, legal documents, newspapers clippings, scrapbooks and photographs that primarily document his activities during Norfolk’s desegregation crisis.
Allison Kenneth Scribner Papers
The collection contains material related to Allison Kenneth (A.K.) Scribner's tenure on the Old Dominion College Board of Visitors, his work with civic organizations, and his professional career in manufacturing.
Scott R. Sechrist Papers
This collection contains flyers, publications, and newspapers related to social justice in Norfolk collected by Scott Sechrist while a student at Old Dominion University in the early 1970s. The collection consists of four issues of the underground Newspaper, The Norfolk Gorilla, bumper stickers for radio station K-94 and the 1972 Presidential Campaign of George McGovern and Sargent Shriver, as well as other anti-Vietnam publications.
W.B. Shafer, Jr. Papers
Calder Smith Sherwood, III Papers
Calder Smith Sherwood, III was a chemistry professor at Old Dominion University who served as faculty member in the College of Sciences from 1939-1977, teaching chemistry, astronomy, and geophysical sciences at the university.
Shipbuilding Ledger (Norfolk, Va.)
Ledger kept near the port of Norfolk containing accounts of blacksmiths, captains, sail makers, and block makers in 1796. The college also contains 19th century clippings from literary publications.
Charles Sibley Photographs and Slides
This collection contains photographs and slides of both Charles Sibley's artwork, of Sibley himself, as well as trips around the world, including Greece and Turkey. The bulk of the photographs and slides are in color.
James Washington Singleton Papers
Prominent Peace Democrat from Illinois during the Civil War. Served in the United States House of Representatives (1879-1883). Contains family papers spanning five generations, dating from 1770 to 1975. Includes correspondence, business papers, military papers, newspaper clippings, and photographs.
Eloise Word Skewis Papers
This collection includes correspondence, newspaper clippings, receipts, statement of accounts, currency, bonds, and indentures. Of note is genealogical material that relate to the Claiborne and Kilby families of Virginia.
Warren Spencer Collection
This collection contains a draft and an original manuscript of the Whittle Papers, original letters, and photocopies of original documents (with transcriptions), notes, books, and a copy of a photograph of Lt. William Conway Whittle. The collection was assembled by Warren Spencer, professor of history at Old Dominion University.
Russell Stanger Papers
This collection contains scores, recordings, programs and publicity, correspondence, and other material related to composer Russell Stanger.
A.E.S. Stephens Papers
Served in both the House of Delegates (1929-1941) and the State Senate (1941-1952), and as Lieutenant Governor (1952-1961). Ran unsuccessfully for the Democratic nomination for Governor in 1961 against Albertis Harrison. Centers around this unsuccessful campaign and contains papers focusing on the issue of Massive Resistance to integration, dating to the early 1950s.
Harvey Stokes Papers
The collection includes correspondence, programs, publicity material, as well as newspaper articles concerning the work of composer Harvey Stokes.
Michael J. Stolee Papers
The collection contains material related to Stolee’s work as an expert witness in 68 school desegregation cases in the US including Norfolk. Stolle helped to design Norfolk 1971 school busing plan.The material includes the court proceedings, testimony, newspaper clippings, photographs, invoices and correspondence as well as his narrative of some of the cases.
William Stoney Papers
The bulk of the materials in the William Stoney Papers represent his work as an active composer. The materials include working sketches and sketchbooks and original compositions in various points of the publishing process. Other materials included in the collection relate to Stoney’s teaching and performance activities. Additional scope and content notes providing further detail can be found at the series level.
Strauss Family Papers
Collected by Arnold F. Strauss. Includes personal correspondence, diaries and journals, documents and business papers belonging to the German-Jewish Strauss family. Among the papers are many belonging to Arthur F. Strauss, a respected and successful doctor in Barmen, Germany. He was also a well known poet, art collector, and painter, closely aligned with German Expressionism. German language materials predominate.
Fred Strong Papers
Student Organizations Collection
This collection contains publications associated with student organizations at the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary, Old Dominion College, and Old Dominion University. The documents within this collection reflect the evolving interests and concerns of an expanding and diverse student body throughout the university’s history. Included are student organization publications such as literary digests, opinion journals, and student organization newsletters.
Student Wives Club Records
Correspondence, financial records, meeting minutes, scrapbooks, and other items related to Old Dominion University Student Wives Club.