Showing Collections: 241 - 260 of 270
Filter Results
Additional filters:
- Repository
- ODU University Archives 131
- ODU Community Collections 125
- ODU Diehn Composers Room Collection 14
- Topic
- Old Dominion University--Faculty 33
- Norfolk (Va.)--History--20th century 31
- Norfolk (Va.)--Politics and government--20th century 29
- Old Dominion University--History 28
- Virginia--Politics and government 24
- School integration--Massive resistance movement 17
- Old Dominion University--Reports 14
- Civic leaders--Virginia--Norfolk 12
- Music--United States--20th century 12
- Hampton Roads (Va.)--History--20th century 11
- letters (correspondence) 11
- City council members--Virginia--Norfolk 10
- Public schools--Virginia--Norfolk 9
- School integration--Virginia--Norfolk--History--20th century 9
- United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 9
- World War, 1939-1945--Veterans 9
- College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division--Student life 8
- Hampton Roads (Va. : Region) 8
- Old Dominion University--Alumni and alumnae 8
- Old Dominion University--History--20th century 8
- Race relations--History--20th century 8
- Segregation in education--Virginia--Norfolk 8
- World War, 1939-1945 8
- College publications--Virginia--Norfolk 7
- Families--Virginia--History--19th century 7
- Lawyers--Virginia--Norfolk 7
- Old Dominion University--Student life 7
- United States. Navy--Officers 7
- photographs 7
- African Americans--Education--Virginia--Norfolk 6
- Old Dominion College--Student life 6
- Old Dominion University--Administrators 6
- United States--Politics and government--20th century 6
- Virginia--Genealogy 6
- minutes (administrative records) 6
- Artists--United States 5
- College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division--Faculty 5
- Families--Virginia--History--20th century 5
- Legislators--Virginia--Hampton Roads 5
- Old Dominion University--Student organizations 5
- Orchestral music--Virginia 5
- Virginia--Politics and government--1865-1950 5
- scrapbooks 5
- African Americans--Civil rights 4
- Businessmen--Virginia--Norfolk 4
- Gay rights--United States--History--20th century 4
- Mayors--Virginia--Norfolk 4
- Old Dominion University--Commencement 4
- Old Dominion University--Fraternities 4
- Old Dominion University. School of Business Administration 4
- School closings--Virginia--Norfolk 4
- Vocal Music--20th century 4
- World War, 1914-1918 4
- African Americans--Segregation 3
- Arts--Virginia 3
- College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division--Student organizations 3
- Confederate States of America. Army 3
- Creative writing 3
- Democratic Party (Va.) 3
- Distance education 3
- Equality 3
- Hampton Roads (Va.)--Photographs 3
- Housing--Virginia--Norfolk 3
- Old Dominion University--Buildings and grounds 3
- Old Dominion University--Sororities 3
- Old Dominion University--Sports 3
- Old Dominion University--Statistics 3
- Orchestral musicians--Virginia 3
- School integration--Law and legislation--United States--Cases 3
- Segregation in education--Virginia--History--20th century 3
- United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Naval operations 3
- United States. Navy--History 3
- Universities and colleges--Administration 3
- Women's rights 3
- programs (documents) 3
- African Americans--History 2
- Arts--Virginia--Hampton Roads (Region) 2
- Athletics 2
- Authors--United States 2
- Baritone (Musical instrument) 2
- Brown vs. Board of Education of Topeka 2
- Businesses--Virginia--Norfolk 2
- Busing for school integration--Virginia--Norfolk 2
- College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division--History 2
- College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division--Sports 2
- Composers 2
- Equal rights amendments--United States 2
- Families--New England--History--19th century 2
- Festivals in literature 2
- Gadfly literary magazine (Old Dominion University, Norfolk, Va.) 2
- Gay people--United States--History--20th century. 2
- Hampton Roads (Va. : Region)--History, Military 2
- Hampton Roads (Va.)--Maps 2
- Housing--United States 2
- Jamestown Ter-centennial Exposition (1907) 2
- Journalists--United States 2
- Korean War, 1950-1953--Veterans 2
- Lectures and lecturing--Virginia--Norfolk--History--20th century 2
- Norfolk (Va.)--Intellectual life--20th century 2
- Old Dominion College--History 2 ∧ less
- Language
- German 3
- Italian 2
- Spanish; Castilian 2
- French 1
- Yiddish 1
- People/Organizations
- Old Dominion University 56
- College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division 16
- Virginia. General Assembly 13
- Old Dominion College 11
- Virginia. General Assembly. House of Delegates 10
- Old Dominion University. Department of English 8
- Old Dominion University. Board of Visitors 6
- Old Dominion University. Department of Women's Studies 6
- Virginia Symphony 6
- Old Dominion University. Department of Art 5
- Old Dominion University. Department of History 5
- Norfolk College of William and Mary 4
- Norfolk School Board (Norfolk, Va.) 4
- United States. Navy 4
- Virginia Opera Association 4
- Virginia. General Assembly. Senate 4
- Eastern Virginia Medical School 3
- Howell, Henry E. (Henry Evans) (1920-1997) 3
- Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority 3
- Old Dominion University. Department of Music 3
- Old Dominion University. Human Resources 3
- Old Dominion University. Office of the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs 3
- United States. Congress. House 3
- Women's Council for Interracial Cooperation (Norfolk, Va.) 3
- College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 2
- Cox, Lawrence Morgan, Sr. (1912-2002) 2
- Diehn, Fr. L. (Friedrich Ludwig) (1910-1995) 2
- Frank, Willard C., Jr. (1936-2011) 2
- Lesley, Everett Parker, Jr. (1913-1982) 2
- Lyric Opera of Virginia 2
- MacArthur Memorial 2
- MacArthur, Douglas 2
- Mason, Vivian Carter (1900-1982) 2
- Maury High School (Norfolk, Va.) 2
- National Association for the Advancement of Colored People 2
- Norfolk Museum of Arts and Sciences (Va.) 2
- Old Dominion College. Board of Visitors 2
- Old Dominion University. Darden School of Education 2
- Old Dominion University. Department of Business Administration 2
- Old Dominion University. Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice 2
- Old Dominion University. Intercollegiate Athletics 2
- Old Dominion University. Libraries 2
- Old Dominion University. Libraries. F. Ludwig Diehn Composers Room 2
- Old Dominion University. Office of Alumni Relations 2
- Old Dominion University. Office of Continuing Education 2
- Old Dominion University. Office of University Events 2
- Old Dominion University. Office of the Vice President for University Advancement 2
- Old Dominion University. School of Business Administration 2
- Old Dominion University. School of Continuing Education 2
- Old Dominion University. Vice President for Administration and Finance 2
- Old Dominion University. Women's Caucus 2
- Old Dominion University. Women's Center 2
- Phillips, George Conoly (1931-2020) 2
- Robertson, Pat (1930-) 2
- Ross, Walter (1936-) 2
- Strong, Fred (1952-) 2
- Sweeney, James R. 2
- Town-N-Gown (Norfolk, Va.) 2
- United States. Supreme Court 2
- Virginia Commonwealth University 2
- Whitehurst, G. William (1925-) 2
- Whittle family 2
- Yaco, Sonia (1957-) 2
- 39th Georgia Regiment 1
- AIDS Fund, Inc. 1
- Abbott, Carl (1944-) 1
- Adams, Clifford L. (1915-1999) 1
- Ainsworth family 1
- Aison, Howard B. (Howard Bertram) (1920-1997) 1
- Alan B. Shepard Convention Center (Virginia Beach, Va.) 1
- Allen family 1
- Allen-Johnson family 1
- Ambrose, Herbert 1
- American Association of Retired Persons. Virginia 1
- American Association of University Professors 1
- American Association of University Women. Norfolk Branch 1
- American Basketball Association 1
- American Physical Therapy Association 1
- American Red Cross 1
- American String Teachers Association 1
- Anderson, Allen (Allen L.) 1
- Andrews, Mason Cooke (1919-2006) 1
- Ansel, Walter C. (1897-1977) 1
- Armstead family 1
- Assembly on the Dimensions of Hunger and Malnutrition 1
- Association for the Promotion of New Music 1
- Association of Writers & Writing Programs 1
- Babalas, Peter K. (1922-1987) 1
- Bachus family 1
- Bader, Eleanor J. (1922-2013) 1
- Bank of Chambersburg (Franklin, Pa.) 1
- Banks, Benjamin A. (1884-1974) 1
- Baptist Student Union 1
- Barnum, P. T. (Phineas Taylor) (1810-1891) 1
- Barron, James S. (1875-1941) 1
- Beatty, Elie 1
- Bell, Walter Herman (1900-1982) 1
- Berent, Irwin M. 1
- Beta Sigma Phi 1
- Blank, Allan (1925-2013) 1 ∧ less
Virginia Symphony Foundation Records
The Virginia Symphony Foundation, provides financial support to the Virginia Symphony by administering funds and property for the benefit of the Virginia Symphony. Consists of bylaws, meeting minutes, and financial information.
Virginia Symphony League Records
Since 1927, the Virginia Symphony League supports and promotes the Virginia Symphony through fundraising and is considered a standing committee of the Virginia Symphony. Consists of administrative, board, and committee materials as well as information on publicity and fundraisers.
Virginia Symphony Orchestra Records
Consists of the Virginia Symphony Orchestra organizational archives, the Virginia Symphony Board archives, artifacts concerning premieres and other notable performances, and season programs.
Virginia Symphony Society of Greater Williamsburg Records
The Virginia Symphony Society of Greater Williamsburg (VSSGW) was formed to encourage support for and enjoyment of the symphony in the Greater Williamsburg area. Consists of material related to the annual Beethoven Festival in Williamsburg and other events, administrative and committee material, and newsletters.
Virginia Technology and Engineering Education Association (VTEEA) Records
Virginia Tidewater Dental Association Records
Small collection that consists of a minute book, membership list and correspondence of a dental association in Norfolk and Portsmouth. Also has a short history of the Norfolk Webster family of dentists.
Charles E. Vogan Papers
The collection contains material related to the Music Club at the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary and Old Dominion University collected by music professor Dr. Charles E. Vogan. Included in the collection are music programs, invitations, sponsors, meeting minutes, budgets, correspondence and new clippings concerning the arts.
Stanley Clay Walker Papers
Served in the Virginia House of Delegates from 1964 to 1971, and had been a State Senator since 1972. Papers chiefly relate to his service in the General Assembly, notably his service as Chairman of the State Crime Commission.
Rogers Dey Whichard Collection of Printer's Blocks
The collection contains approximately 100 printer's blocks of images that were used in the book "The History of Lower Tidewater Virginia" written by Rogers Dey Whichard, a foreign languages instructor at the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary. The book was published by Lewis Historical Publishing Company, Inc. in 1959. Each printer's block is wrapped in newspaper with a photograph of the corresponding image from the book taped to the outside.
Edith R. White Papers
This collection contains of a variety of documents relating to women’s activism and educational activity in the city of Norfolk, Virginia.
Forrest P. White Papers
Pediatrician in Norfolk. Played central role in formation of Norfolk Committee for Public Schools, which opposed the closing of the city’s public schools during the desegregation crisis. Bulk of the material concerns the desegregation of Norfolk’s public schools.
Forrest R. "Hap" White Papers
Former Budget Director for the Norfolk Public Schools. Fourteen untranscribed cassette tapes containing interviews White conducted with politicians, journalists, police and other city officials from 1975-1991 as background for his ODU doctoral dissertation, School Desegregation and Urban Renewal and the 1992 book Pride and Prejudice: School Desegregation and Urban Renewal in Norfolk, 1950-1959.
J. Warren White, Jr. Papers
Represented Norfolk in the Virginia House of Delegates from 1962 to 1979. Includes legislative correspondence, records, and reference material relating to his service in the Virginia House of Delegates.
Margaret White Papers
Margaret White taught in the Norfolk school system off and on since 1930. Involved in struggle to reopen the public schools during the integration crisis. CBS television documentary, "The Lost Class of ’59" recorded her efforts. Correspondence and printed material, the bulk of which dates from 1959-1964, chiefly relates to the CBS documentary. Member of the Norfolk Committee for Public Schools.
G. William Whitehurst Papers
G. William Whitehurst was elected to the U.S. House of Representatives from Virginia’s Second District in 1968. Member of the House Armed Services Committee, Committee on Intelligence and Ethics Committee. Consists of nineteen bound Congressional dairies spanning from 1969 to 1986. Six scrap books consisting of newspaper clippings, magazines, pictures and other documents relating to Doctor William Whitehurst’s tenure in the House of Representatives.
Whittle Family Papers
This collection contains diaries, personal accounts, certificates, proceedings, receipts, literary magazines, and newspapers documenting the Whittle, Page, Loyall, Dabney, and Gordon families.
John R. Wikoff Papers
This collection contains a 1956 Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary class ring, bachelor degree, news clipping and biographical information regarding John R. Wikoff, one of the 15 members of the class of 1956. The class of 1956 was the first class to receive bachelor degrees from the Norfolk Division.
Arthur George Williams Papers
The collection contains a black and white photograph of Arthur George Williams, Professor of Modern Languages at the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary, in his study as well as a letter written during World War II about giving guns from the war to a friend in the United States. It is unclear if the letter relates to Professor Williams.
Thom Williamson Papers
Engineer in United States Navy from 1853 until 1912, when he was relieved from active duty as a Chief Engineer with the rank of Rear Admiral. During the Civil War he served on the U.S.S. Hartford, the flagship of Rear Admiral David Farragut, and was present at the Battle of Mobile Bay in 1864. Collection consists of general correspondence, naval correspondence, diaries, and military papers from his service in the Navy.
Harold S. Wilson Papers
This collection includes material related to personal experiences and tributes of Confederate soldiers in Virginia Companies collected by Harold S. Wilson, a professor in the Department of History. Topics include primary accounts of Virginia battles, daily soldier life, military morale, and southern ideologies,