17. College of Arts and Letters
Found in 35 Collections and/or Records:
Susan Kent Papers
Dr. Kent served as a professor of anthropology from 1986 until 2003. She was an expert on hunters and gatherers. Her most extensive field work was her study of the Bushmen and Bakgalagadi of Africa. Collection includes material from her time at ODU, her field notes, and other research material.
Literary Festival Collection
This collection contains material from the Poetry Jam and first Literary Festival in 1978 and chronicles the annual Literary Festival onwards to the present day. Materials consist of original and digitized brochures, flyers, and promotional documents; schedules; news clippings; photos; and original and digitized video, as available.
Robert Crawford McClelland Papers
This collection consists of material written by or about Dr. Robert C. McClelland. Materials include a publication on the William T. Hodges scandal at the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary in 1941, Masontown Pennsylvania, poetry, newspaper clippings, and the NATO Symposium directed by Dr. McClelland from 1955 to 1956.
Robert A. McCullough Papers
The collection contains a portfolio of logotypes created by Robert McCullough, professor of graphic arts, for Old Dominion University. Included are examples of the proposed logos on business cards and letterhead, and features the ODU racetrack logo that eventually was chosen as the official logo in 1974.
Norfolk Women's Oral History Project
The Norfolk Women’s Oral History Project was conducted between 1971 and 1974 as a project of the newly formed ODU Women’s Studies program. The project was headed by Jean E. Friedman, instructor in the History Department at ODU. The project was initiated to explore women’s sexual attitudes in the 1930s.
Phillip Raisor Papers
This collection contains material created and collected by Phillip Raisor, a professor in the English Department at Old Dominion University. Included in the collection are material related to the Literary Festival at Old Dominion and personal essays written by Raisor.
Carolyn Rhodes Papers
Dr. Rhodes was an English and Women's Studies professor at Old Dominion University. The collection includes course descriptions, grant reports, meeting minutes from various women's groups, information pertaining to the Title IX hearings, books, journal articles, newspaper clippings, newsletters and photographs.
Jeffrey Richards Papers
This collection documents the professional life of Jeffrey Richards and his development of the English Department at Old Dominion University.
Charles Sibley Photographs and Slides
This collection contains photographs and slides of both Charles Sibley's artwork, of Sibley himself, as well as trips around the world, including Greece and Turkey. The bulk of the photographs and slides are in color.
Caroline Heath Tunstall Papers
Charles E. Vogan Papers
The collection contains material related to the Music Club at the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary and Old Dominion University collected by music professor Dr. Charles E. Vogan. Included in the collection are music programs, invitations, sponsors, meeting minutes, budgets, correspondence and new clippings concerning the arts.
Rogers Dey Whichard Collection of Printer's Blocks
The collection contains approximately 100 printer's blocks of images that were used in the book "The History of Lower Tidewater Virginia" written by Rogers Dey Whichard, a foreign languages instructor at the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary. The book was published by Lewis Historical Publishing Company, Inc. in 1959. Each printer's block is wrapped in newspaper with a photograph of the corresponding image from the book taped to the outside.
Arthur George Williams Papers
The collection contains a black and white photograph of Arthur George Williams, Professor of Modern Languages at the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary, in his study as well as a letter written during World War II about giving guns from the war to a friend in the United States. It is unclear if the letter relates to Professor Williams.
Harold S. Wilson Papers
This collection includes material related to personal experiences and tributes of Confederate soldiers in Virginia Companies collected by Harold S. Wilson, a professor in the Department of History. Topics include primary accounts of Virginia battles, daily soldier life, military morale, and southern ideologies,
Steven A. Yetiv Papers
This collection contains three scrapbooks featuring news articles, mostly from newspapers, written by Steven A. Yetiv, a professor in the Department of Political Science and Geography at Old Dominion University. Most of the articles are about United States and Middle East Relations during the Cold War and just before the September 11, 2001 terroriat attacks on the United States.