Showing Collections: 141 - 160 of 270
Filter Results
Additional filters:
- Repository
- ODU University Archives 131
- ODU Community Collections 125
- ODU Diehn Composers Room Collection 14
- Topic
- Old Dominion University--Faculty 33
- Norfolk (Va.)--History--20th century 31
- Norfolk (Va.)--Politics and government--20th century 29
- Old Dominion University--History 28
- Virginia--Politics and government 24
- School integration--Massive resistance movement 17
- Old Dominion University--Reports 14
- Civic leaders--Virginia--Norfolk 12
- Music--United States--20th century 12
- Hampton Roads (Va.)--History--20th century 11
- letters (correspondence) 11
- City council members--Virginia--Norfolk 10
- Public schools--Virginia--Norfolk 9
- School integration--Virginia--Norfolk--History--20th century 9
- United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 9
- World War, 1939-1945--Veterans 9
- College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division--Student life 8
- Hampton Roads (Va. : Region) 8
- Old Dominion University--Alumni and alumnae 8
- Old Dominion University--History--20th century 8
- Race relations--History--20th century 8
- Segregation in education--Virginia--Norfolk 8
- World War, 1939-1945 8
- College publications--Virginia--Norfolk 7
- Families--Virginia--History--19th century 7
- Lawyers--Virginia--Norfolk 7
- Old Dominion University--Student life 7
- United States. Navy--Officers 7
- photographs 7
- African Americans--Education--Virginia--Norfolk 6
- Old Dominion College--Student life 6
- Old Dominion University--Administrators 6
- United States--Politics and government--20th century 6
- Virginia--Genealogy 6
- minutes (administrative records) 6
- Artists--United States 5
- College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division--Faculty 5
- Families--Virginia--History--20th century 5
- Legislators--Virginia--Hampton Roads 5
- Old Dominion University--Student organizations 5
- Orchestral music--Virginia 5
- Virginia--Politics and government--1865-1950 5
- scrapbooks 5
- African Americans--Civil rights 4
- Businessmen--Virginia--Norfolk 4
- Gay rights--United States--History--20th century 4
- Mayors--Virginia--Norfolk 4
- Old Dominion University--Commencement 4
- Old Dominion University--Fraternities 4
- Old Dominion University. School of Business Administration 4
- School closings--Virginia--Norfolk 4
- Vocal Music--20th century 4
- World War, 1914-1918 4
- African Americans--Segregation 3
- Arts--Virginia 3
- College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division--Student organizations 3
- Confederate States of America. Army 3
- Creative writing 3
- Democratic Party (Va.) 3
- Distance education 3
- Equality 3
- Hampton Roads (Va.)--Photographs 3
- Housing--Virginia--Norfolk 3
- Old Dominion University--Buildings and grounds 3
- Old Dominion University--Sororities 3
- Old Dominion University--Sports 3
- Old Dominion University--Statistics 3
- Orchestral musicians--Virginia 3
- School integration--Law and legislation--United States--Cases 3
- Segregation in education--Virginia--History--20th century 3
- United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Naval operations 3
- United States. Navy--History 3
- Universities and colleges--Administration 3
- Women's rights 3
- programs (documents) 3
- African Americans--History 2
- Arts--Virginia--Hampton Roads (Region) 2
- Athletics 2
- Authors--United States 2
- Baritone (Musical instrument) 2
- Brown vs. Board of Education of Topeka 2
- Businesses--Virginia--Norfolk 2
- Busing for school integration--Virginia--Norfolk 2
- College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division--History 2
- College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division--Sports 2
- Composers 2
- Equal rights amendments--United States 2
- Families--New England--History--19th century 2
- Festivals in literature 2
- Gadfly literary magazine (Old Dominion University, Norfolk, Va.) 2
- Gay people--United States--History--20th century. 2
- Hampton Roads (Va. : Region)--History, Military 2
- Hampton Roads (Va.)--Maps 2
- Housing--United States 2
- Jamestown Ter-centennial Exposition (1907) 2
- Journalists--United States 2
- Korean War, 1950-1953--Veterans 2
- Lectures and lecturing--Virginia--Norfolk--History--20th century 2
- Norfolk (Va.)--Intellectual life--20th century 2
- Old Dominion College--History 2 ∧ less
- Language
- German 3
- Italian 2
- Spanish; Castilian 2
- French 1
- Yiddish 1
- People/Organizations
- Old Dominion University 56
- College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division 16
- Virginia. General Assembly 13
- Old Dominion College 11
- Virginia. General Assembly. House of Delegates 10
- Old Dominion University. Department of English 8
- Old Dominion University. Board of Visitors 6
- Old Dominion University. Department of Women's Studies 6
- Virginia Symphony 6
- Old Dominion University. Department of Art 5
- Old Dominion University. Department of History 5
- Norfolk College of William and Mary 4
- Norfolk School Board (Norfolk, Va.) 4
- United States. Navy 4
- Virginia Opera Association 4
- Virginia. General Assembly. Senate 4
- Eastern Virginia Medical School 3
- Howell, Henry E. (Henry Evans) (1920-1997) 3
- Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority 3
- Old Dominion University. Department of Music 3
- Old Dominion University. Human Resources 3
- Old Dominion University. Office of the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs 3
- United States. Congress. House 3
- Women's Council for Interracial Cooperation (Norfolk, Va.) 3
- College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 2
- Cox, Lawrence Morgan, Sr. (1912-2002) 2
- Diehn, Fr. L. (Friedrich Ludwig) (1910-1995) 2
- Frank, Willard C., Jr. (1936-2011) 2
- Lesley, Everett Parker, Jr. (1913-1982) 2
- Lyric Opera of Virginia 2
- MacArthur Memorial 2
- MacArthur, Douglas 2
- Mason, Vivian Carter (1900-1982) 2
- Maury High School (Norfolk, Va.) 2
- National Association for the Advancement of Colored People 2
- Norfolk Museum of Arts and Sciences (Va.) 2
- Old Dominion College. Board of Visitors 2
- Old Dominion University. Darden School of Education 2
- Old Dominion University. Department of Business Administration 2
- Old Dominion University. Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice 2
- Old Dominion University. Intercollegiate Athletics 2
- Old Dominion University. Libraries 2
- Old Dominion University. Libraries. F. Ludwig Diehn Composers Room 2
- Old Dominion University. Office of Alumni Relations 2
- Old Dominion University. Office of Continuing Education 2
- Old Dominion University. Office of University Events 2
- Old Dominion University. Office of the Vice President for University Advancement 2
- Old Dominion University. School of Business Administration 2
- Old Dominion University. School of Continuing Education 2
- Old Dominion University. Vice President for Administration and Finance 2
- Old Dominion University. Women's Caucus 2
- Old Dominion University. Women's Center 2
- Phillips, George Conoly (1931-2020) 2
- Robertson, Pat (1930-) 2
- Ross, Walter (1936-) 2
- Strong, Fred (1952-) 2
- Sweeney, James R. 2
- Town-N-Gown (Norfolk, Va.) 2
- United States. Supreme Court 2
- Virginia Commonwealth University 2
- Whitehurst, G. William (1925-) 2
- Whittle family 2
- Yaco, Sonia (1957-) 2
- 39th Georgia Regiment 1
- AIDS Fund, Inc. 1
- Abbott, Carl (1944-) 1
- Adams, Clifford L. (1915-1999) 1
- Ainsworth family 1
- Aison, Howard B. (Howard Bertram) (1920-1997) 1
- Alan B. Shepard Convention Center (Virginia Beach, Va.) 1
- Allen family 1
- Allen-Johnson family 1
- Ambrose, Herbert 1
- American Association of Retired Persons. Virginia 1
- American Association of University Professors 1
- American Association of University Women. Norfolk Branch 1
- American Basketball Association 1
- American Physical Therapy Association 1
- American Red Cross 1
- American String Teachers Association 1
- Anderson, Allen (Allen L.) 1
- Andrews, Mason Cooke (1919-2006) 1
- Ansel, Walter C. (1897-1977) 1
- Armstead family 1
- Assembly on the Dimensions of Hunger and Malnutrition 1
- Association for the Promotion of New Music 1
- Association of Writers & Writing Programs 1
- Babalas, Peter K. (1922-1987) 1
- Bachus family 1
- Bader, Eleanor J. (1922-2013) 1
- Bank of Chambersburg (Franklin, Pa.) 1
- Banks, Benjamin A. (1884-1974) 1
- Baptist Student Union 1
- Barnum, P. T. (Phineas Taylor) (1810-1891) 1
- Barron, James S. (1875-1941) 1
- Beatty, Elie 1
- Bell, Walter Herman (1900-1982) 1
- Berent, Irwin M. 1
- Beta Sigma Phi 1
- Blank, Allan (1925-2013) 1 ∧ less
Niles' Weekly Register Concerning Nat Turner Slave Rebellion
The collection contains two issues of Niles' Weekly Register, published in Baltimore, Maryland, concerning Nat Turner's slave rebellion in Southampton, Virginia in 1831. Both issues, dated August 27 and September 3, 1831, give first-hand accounts of the rebellion from letters to the editor of the publication. The story begins on page 455 of the August 27 issue and on page 4 of the September 3 issue.
Nineteenth Century Stethoscope
Contains a wooden Laënnec-style stethoscope thought to have been used in the early 19th century. Included in the collection is a paper scroll that accounts the early development of the stethoscope for medical purposes.
Norfolk 1919 Photograph Collection
A portfolio of 46 prints that depict small shop owners and employees of businesses in Norfolk, Virginia in 1919. Also, includes a study written by Dr. Peter Stewart, an Old Dominion University History Professor and local historian, that examines what Norfolk was like in 1919. This study is located in the collection’s control folder.
Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary and Old Dominion College Collection
These papers documents the college’s early years as a two-year branch campus, the industrial training courses during World War II, the creation of the Evening College and Technical Institute, and its transition to an accredited university. Included in the records are correspondence, newspapers, reports, college histories, building plans, bulletins, course descriptions and syllabi, newspaper clippings, and scrapbooks.
Norfolk Forum Collection
Established in 1932, the Norfolk Forum is believed to be the oldest nonprofit, public lecture series in the U.S. The collection includes Forum business, history, events and event programs, speaker bios, promotional materials, photographs, oral histories, and video tapes of some of the speakers.
Norfolk Museum of Natural History Photographs
Includes 144 photographs that depict the museum’s exhibits, staff, special functions, and activities.
Norfolk Public Schools Desegregation Collection
Norfolk United Community Fund Records
The records of the Norfolk United Community Fund include minutes, reports from the Board of Trustees and various committees, collection and distribution statements, memorandums, outgoing correspondence, and scrapbooks.
Norfolk Women's Oral History Project
The Norfolk Women’s Oral History Project was conducted between 1971 and 1974 as a project of the newly formed ODU Women’s Studies program. The project was headed by Jean E. Friedman, instructor in the History Department at ODU. The project was initiated to explore women’s sexual attitudes in the 1930s.
Ocean View, Seaside, and Seaview Amusement Parks Collection
Includes correspondence, photographs, legal documents, financial material, brochures, advertisements, news releases and newspaper clippings primarily relating to Ocean View, Seaside, and Seaview amusement parks.
Office of Administrative Services and Controller Records
This small collection consists of administrative and financial materials.
Office of Alumni Relations Records
The Old Dominion University Office of Alumni Relations Records includes administrative letters, pamphlets, reports, event programs, invitations, and memorabilia of the ODU Alumni Relations and Govertment Relations office from the 1960s to the 2000s.
Office of Auxiliary Services Records
This collection conists of reports, meeting minutes, correspondence and other materials pertaining to the Old Dominion University Auxiliary Services.
Office of Continuing Education Records
The Old Dominion University Office of Continuing Education Records consists of continuing education program guides and pamphlets for various fields, such as education, nursing. and liberal arts, as well as material for the Bounty Rainbow program.
Office of the Executive Vice President. Harold Eickhoff Records
This collection contains the office files of Harold Eickhoff, Executive Vice President of Old Dominion. Some of the topics found in the records include planning documents for the university, space planning, annual reports, State Council of Higher Education in Virginia (SCHEV) material, and planning for the Iranian Naval Academy.
Office of Financial Aid Records
This collection pertains to the records of the Old Dominion University Office of Financial Aid. Materials includes information on student merit awards, procedures for student employment, and other administrative records.
Office of Human Resources Records
The Old Dominion University Office of Human Resources Records contains correspondence, faculty and personnel, and miscellaneous information regarding the Office of Human Resources.
Office of Information Technology Services Records
This collection contains newsletters, flyers, and other administrative records pertaining to Information Techology Services and its predecessor Computing and Communications Services at Old Dominion University.
Office of Institutional Research and Assessment Records
The collection consists of long-range planning studies, surveys, reports, "quality of life" surveys, and strategic plans created by the Office of Institutional Research and Assessment at Old Dominion University.
Office of International Programs Records
This collection pertains to the Office of International Programs at Old Dominion Unviversity.