Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 41 - 60 of 257

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Repository
Community Collections 125
University Archives 119
Diehn Composers Room Collection 13
 
Topic
Old Dominion University--Faculty 33
Norfolk (Va.)--History--20th century 30
Norfolk (Va.)--Politics and government--20th century 29
Old Dominion University--History 28
Virginia--Politics and government 24
∨ more
School integration--Massive resistance movement 17
Old Dominion University--Reports 14
Civic leaders--Virginia--Norfolk 12
Music--United States--20th century 12
Hampton Roads (Va.)--History--20th century 11
letters (correspondence) 11
City council members--Virginia--Norfolk 10
Public schools--Virginia--Norfolk 9
School integration--Virginia--Norfolk--History--20th century 9
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 9
World War, 1939-1945--Veterans 9
Hampton Roads (Va. : Region) 8
Race relations--History--20th century 8
Segregation in education--Virginia--Norfolk 8
World War, 1939-1945 8
College publications--Virginia--Norfolk 7
Families--Virginia--History--19th century 7
Lawyers--Virginia--Norfolk 7
Old Dominion University--Student life 7
United States. Navy--Officers 7
African Americans--Education--Virginia--Norfolk 6
Old Dominion University--Administrators 6
Old Dominion University--History--20th century 6
Virginia--Genealogy 6
minutes (administrative records) 6
photographs 6
Artists--United States 5
College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division--Faculty 5
College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division--Student life 5
Families--Virginia--History--20th century 5
Legislators--Virginia--Hampton Roads 5
Orchestral music--Virginia 5
United States--Politics and government--20th century 5
Virginia--Politics and government--1865-1950 5
African Americans--Civil rights 4
Businessmen--Virginia--Norfolk 4
Mayors--Virginia--Norfolk 4
Old Dominion College--Student life 4
Old Dominion University--Fraternities 4
Old Dominion University--Student organizations 4
Old Dominion University. School of Business Administration 4
School closings--Virginia--Norfolk 4
World War, 1914-1918 4
African Americans--Segregation 3
Arts--Virginia 3
Confederate States of America. Army 3
Creative writing 3
Democratic Party (Va.) 3
Distance education 3
Gay rights--United States--History--20th century 3
Housing--Virginia--Norfolk 3
Old Dominion University--Alumni and alumnae 3
Old Dominion University--Buildings and grounds 3
Old Dominion University--Commencement 3
Old Dominion University--Sororities 3
Old Dominion University--Sports 3
Old Dominion University--Statistics 3
Orchestral musicians--Virginia 3
School integration--Law and legislation--United States--Cases 3
Segregation in education--Virginia--History--20th century 3
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Naval operations 3
United States. Navy--History 3
Vocal Music--20th century 3
Women's rights 3
programs (documents) 3
scrapbooks 3
African Americans--History 2
Arts--Virginia--Hampton Roads (Region) 2
Athletics 2
Authors--United States 2
Baritone (Musical instrument) 2
Brown vs. Board of Education of Topeka 2
Busing for school integration--Virginia--Norfolk 2
Composers 2
Equal rights amendments--United States 2
Equality 2
Families--New England--History--19th century 2
Festivals in literature 2
Gadfly literary magazine (Old Dominion University, Norfolk, Va.) 2
Hampton Roads (Va. : Region)--History, Military 2
Hampton Roads (Va.)--Maps 2
Hampton Roads (Va.)--Photographs 2
Housing--United States 2
Jamestown Ter-centennial Exposition (1907) 2
Journalists--United States 2
Korean War, 1950-1953--Veterans 2
Lectures and lecturing--Virginia--Norfolk--History--20th century 2
Norfolk (Va.)--Intellectual life--20th century 2
Old Dominion University--Curricula 2
Old Dominion University--Directories 2
Old Dominion University--Handbooks 2
Old Dominion University--Multimedia 2
Old Dominion University--Planning 2
Old Dominion University--Staff 2
Photographers--United States 2
∧ less
 
Language
German 3
Italian 2
Spanish; Castilian 2
French 1
Yiddish 1
 
People/Organizations
Old Dominion University 56
College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division 16
Virginia. General Assembly 13
Old Dominion College 11
Virginia. General Assembly. House of Delegates 10
∨ more
Old Dominion University. Department of English 8
Old Dominion University. Board of Visitors 6
Old Dominion University. Department of Women's Studies 6
Virginia Symphony 6
Old Dominion University. Department of History 5
Norfolk College of William and Mary 4
Norfolk School Board (Norfolk, Va.) 4
Old Dominion University. Department of Art 4
United States. Navy 4
Virginia Opera Association 4
Virginia. General Assembly. Senate 4
Eastern Virginia Medical School 3
Howell, Henry E. (Henry Evans) 3
Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority 3
Old Dominion University. Department of Music 3
Old Dominion University. Human Resources 3
Old Dominion University. Office of the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs 3
United States. Congress. House 3
Women's Council for Interracial Cooperation (Norfolk, Va.) 3
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 2
Cox, Lawrence Morgan, Sr. 2
Frank, Willard C., Jr. 2
Lyric Opera of Virginia 2
MacArthur Memorial 2
MacArthur, Douglas 2
Mason, Vivian Carter 2
Maury High School (Norfolk, Va.) 2
National Association for the Advancement of Colored People 2
Norfolk Museum of Arts and Sciences (Va.) 2
Old Dominion College. Board of Visitors 2
Old Dominion University. Darden School of Education 2
Old Dominion University. Department of Business Administration 2
Old Dominion University. Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice 2
Old Dominion University. Intercollegiate Athletics 2
Old Dominion University. Libraries 2
Old Dominion University. Libraries. F. Ludwig Diehn Composers Room 2
Old Dominion University. Office of Administration and Finance 2
Old Dominion University. Office of Continuing Education 2
Old Dominion University. Office of University Events 2
Old Dominion University. Office of the Vice President for University Advancement 2
Old Dominion University. School of Business Administration 2
Old Dominion University. School of Continuing Education 2
Old Dominion University. Women's Caucus 2
Old Dominion University. Women's Center 2
Phillips, George Conoly 2
Robertson, Pat 2
Sweeney, James R. 2
Town-N-Gown (Norfolk, Va.) 2
United States. Supreme Court 2
Virginia Commonwealth University 2
Whitehurst, G. William 2
Whittle family 2
Yaco, Sonia 2
39th Georgia Regiment 1
AIDS Fund, Inc. 1
Abbott, Carl 1
Adams, Clifford L. 1
Ainsworth family 1
Aison, Howard B. (Howard Bertram) 1
Alan B. Shepard Convention Center (Virginia Beach, Va.) 1
Allen family 1
Allen-Johnson family 1
Ambrose, Herbert 1
American Association of Retired Persons. Virginia 1
American Association of University Professors 1
American Association of University Women. Norfolk Branch 1
American Basketball Association 1
American Physical Therapy Association 1
American Red Cross 1
American String Teachers Association 1
Anderson, Allen (Allen L.) 1
Andrews, Mason Cooke 1
Ansel, Walter C. 1
Armstead family 1
Assembly on the Dimensions of Hunger and Malnutrition 1
Association for the Promotion of New Music 1
Association of Writers & Writing Programs 1
Babalas, Peter K. 1
Bachus family 1
Bader, Eleanor J. 1
Bank of Chambersburg (Franklin, Pa.) 1
Banks, Benjamin A. 1
Baptist Student Union 1
Barnum, P. T. (Phineas Taylor) 1
Barron, James S. 1
Beatty, Elie 1
Bell, Walter Herman 1
Berent, Irwin M. 1
Beta Sigma Phi 1
Blank, Allan 1
Blossom, Thomas 1
Boswell, Archie L. 1
Bowen, Henry Chandler 1
Brazil. Ministério da Agricultura, Comércio e Obras Públicas 1
Breneiser, S. Eliot 1
∧ less
 

Lawrence M. Cox, Sr. Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 38
Abstract Served as the Executive Director of the Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority (NRHA) from 1941-1969 and, thereafter, as Assistant Secretary for Renewal and Housing Assistance in the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) during Nixon’s administration. Collection chiefly consists of the records accumulated during his service with the NRHA and HUD.
Dates: 1902-2002, undated; Other: Date acquired: 09/23/1977

Francis N. Crenshaw Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 1-1B1
Abstract Francis N. Crenshaw was a member of Old Dominion University's Board of Visitors (1968-1976). Material relates to his service as member and rector of the Board. The collection also contains papers of his father, Captain Russell Crenshaw (1886-1975), that chiefly relate to his service in the U.S. Navy during World War II.
Dates: 1927-1978, undated; Other: Date acquired: 11/17/1976

Cultural Alliance of Greater Hampton Roads Records

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 120
Abstract The collection contains materials concerning the activities of the Cultural Alliance of Greater Hampton Roads, whose mission was to stimulate cultural vitality and to facilitate the development of healthy and dynamic cultural institutions throughout the region.. Records consist of reports, meeting minutes, grant applications and materials, correspondence, newspaper clippings, announcements, brochures, newsletters, directories, and photographs from 1972-2018.
Dates: circa 1972-2018, undated; Other: Date acquired: 09/11/2014

Vernon Perdue Davis Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: DCR MG 3
Scope and Contents This collection contains scores, sketches, arrangements, publications, programs and other material created and collected by composer Vernon Perdue Davis.
Dates: 1942-1999, undated

Dean of the College of Arts and Letters Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-1A
Abstract The College of Arts and Letters of the Dean’s Office Records, includes the College of Arts and Letters faculty and committee members, meetings, and minutes; programs and activities; and files from the Advisory Council, Academic Council and Council of Deans.
Dates: 1963-2015, undated

Dean of the Darden College of Education and Professional Studies Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 19-1A
Scope and Contents This collection contains records produced and received by the Dean of the Darden College of Education at Old Dominion University. The collection includes the dean's correspondence, information on the graduate program, teacher education, and publicity material for the college. The bulk of the material dates prior to 1986 when the college was organized as a school.
Dates: 1962-2018, undated; Majority of material found within 1962-1980; Other: Date acquired: 07/09/1976

Dean of the School of Business Administration Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 18-1A
Scope and Contents This collection contains administrative files from the School of Business Administration at Old Dominion University. The bulk of the records consists of subject files of the dean as well as annual reports of the school.
Dates: 1959-1977, undated; Other: Date acquired: 00/00/1974

Dean of the School of Sciences and Health Professions Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 22-1A
Scope and Contents This collection contains the records of the Dean of the School of Sciences and Health Professions. Prior to 1986, the records of both the College of Sciences and College of Health Sciences can be found in this collection. The records mostly consist of subject files pertaining to departmental correspondence, curricular activities, and correspondence with various science and health science professional organizations.
Dates: 1964-1980, undated; Other: Date acquired: 00/00/1977

Delta Sigma Lambda Sorority Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 37-4A
Abstract The Delta Sigma Lambda records consist of eight scrapbooks detailing events within the sorority.
Dates: 1960-1996, undated; Other: Date acquired: 02/01/1999

Department of Communication and Theatre Arts Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-15A
Scope and Contents This collection contains programs, flyers, calendars, and other material related to the Department of Communication and Theatre Arts at Old Dominion University..
Dates: 1955-2000, undated

Department of Economics Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 18-5A
Scope and Contents Small collection pertaining to the Old Dominion University Department of Economics, containing annual reports and labor studies.
Dates: 1971-1976, undated; Other: Date acquired: 08/16/1976

Department of English Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-3A
Abstract Old Dominion University Department of English Records contains reports, memos, newsletters, and dialect research and survey forms, dated circa 1934-1990.
Dates: circa 1934-1990, undated; Other: Date acquired: 11/17/2005

Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-4A
Scope and Contents This collections contains annual reports, departmental meeting minutes, and correspondence pertaining to the Foreign Languages and Literatures Department at Old Dominion University. The department is currently known as the Department of World Languages and Cultures.
Dates: circa 1959-1979, undated; Other: Date acquired: 08/04/1976

Department of History Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-5A
Scope and Contents The collection contains course information, brochures, and newsletters related to the Department of History at Old Dominion University.
Dates: 1973-2008, undated

Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 20-4A
Scope and Contents This collection contains material related to the Old Dominion University Department of Mechanical Engineering.
Dates: 1974-1998, undated

Department of Music Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-6A
Scope and Contents The collection contains programs, annual reports, handbooks and other material related to the Old Dominion University Department of Music. The department became the F. Ludwig Diehn School of Music in 2019, but the bulk of the records are from when they were a department.
Dates: 1949-2019

Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-A7
Scope and Contents This collection contains material relating to the Old Dominion University Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies. Included in the collection is information on Computer Based Logic Instruction and the Institute of Applied Ethics.
Dates: 1976-1984, undated

Department of Urban Studies Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 18-11A
Scope and Contents This collection contains the records of the Department of Urban Studies at Old Dominion University, consisting of reports and material regarding urban planning in the Tidewater area. Included in the collection are Tidewater Economic Reports and information on the Tidewater Regional Policy Conference.
Dates: 1964-2008, undated; Other: Date acquired: 07/27/1976

Department of Women's Studies Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-28A
Scope and Contents The collection contains administrative and financial documents, course descriptions, event flyers and brochures for the Women's Studies Department at Old Dominion University. The bulk of the collection features Women's Studies News, events, and courses offered throughout its duration.
Dates: 1973-2019, undated

Desegregation of Virginia Education (DOVE) Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 104
Abstract The collection contains materials dated mainly from the early 1950s through the 1960s and 70s but also houses materials from the 21st Century related to the 50th Anniversary of the End of Massive Resistance. The collection also focuses on events, legal cases, media coverage, and photographs of desegregation in Virginia.  Specific regions represented in the collection are the City of Norfolk, Prince Edward County, Farmville, Charlottesville and the Eastern Shore of Virginia.
Dates: 1958-2012; Other: Date acquired: 06/09/2009